Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Kethandraxx
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 17, 2018 7:58 am
Contact:

[Feature Request] Connect network adapter after restore

Post by Kethandraxx » Jul 16, 2018 2:41 pm

Goodday,

When a VM that is connected to a virtual distributed switch is restored to a different datacenter (and thus a different vDS), the restore completes succesfully but the network selected is not applied correctly.
We have opened a case at support: 03090032
After going through logs, they confirmed that this is in fact not implemented yet in VEEAM B&R 9.5. We need this feature to ensure a smooth datacenter failover.
Is there any timeframe as to when this can/will be implemented?

Thanks in advance!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25107
Liked: 3677 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Feature Request] Connect network adapter after restore

Post by Gostev » Jul 16, 2018 3:56 pm

Kethandraxx wrote:When a VM that is connected to a virtual distributed switch is restored to a different datacenter (and thus a different vDS) ... the network selected is not applied correctly.
Hello, this would be a bug so please ask your support engineer to process it as such, if they haven't already. They will escalate the issue into R&D for evaluation and let you know an estimated release vehicle for the fix once they hear back. Also, in most cases we are able to provide a hot fix for the current version, so that you don't have to wait for the next update. Thanks!

Kethandraxx
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 17, 2018 7:58 am
Contact:

Re: [Feature Request] Connect network adapter after restore

Post by Kethandraxx » Jul 17, 2018 10:50 am

Thank you for your quick response! VEEAM support actually says this:
I have searched our resources and consulted with my senior colleagues and unfortunately, this limitation cannot be transcended.
The only possible workaround is to map the Restored VM to the needed port group on the target host manually.
Our R&D team is aware of this limitation and this feature is planned to be implemented in the next versions of the software.
If you want, you can also share your feedback and fill in a feature request on our community forum which is constantly monitored by our product managers:
https://forums.veeam.com/
So they say it is not a bug, but a not yet implemented feature...
Any advice would be appreciated.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], oleg.feoktistov, PatrickT and 61 guests