Console need update, but is already updated

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Console need update, but is already updated

Veeam Logoby KeiichiKun » Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:31 pm

Hi all,
I've two instances of Veeam B&R on two different server, updated to 9.5.0.1038
On my workstation I've the console, updated to 9.5.0.1038
Everything has worked fine until a couple of weeks ago; but now, when I launch console from my pc, I get the message "Console update is ready to install. Please close all open consoles and PowerShell session", that disappears without doing anything and console starts. Opening the second console to connect to the other server I get the same message, but to proceed I need to close the first console, so I'm forced to use just one console at a time.
Any ideas?
Case #02348968
Thanks
KeiichiKun
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 40
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:59 pm

Re: Console need update, but is already updated

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:38 pm

I guess that the Servers have different patch levels and the console is forced to change dlls based on the connection. Maybe you have a private patch installed on one of the servers ?

Check in Windows Controlls the installed programs Veeam Versions if they match
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2326
Liked: 387 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: Console need update, but is already updated

Veeam Logoby KeiichiKun » Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:42 am

Hi,
logs from workstations show this version
Module: [C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Console\veeam.backup.shell.exe]. File version: [9.5.0.1038], Assembly version: [9.5.0.0]

On servers, we have these logs
Module: [C:\Program Files\Veeam\Console\veeam.backup.shell.exe]. File version: [9.5.0.1038], Assembly version: [9.5.0.0]
Module: [C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Console\veeam.backup.shell.exe]. File version: [9.5.0.1038], Assembly version: [9.5.0.0]

We have installed a private patch, but only for Veeam.Backup.VssProvider.dll and anyway file version is 9.5.0.1038

I've already try to install again Veeam Console with files that I've received from support but but without success

Thanks
KeiichiKun
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 40
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:59 pm

Re: Console need update, but is already updated

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:06 am 1 person likes this post

Did you installed the patch on both B&R Servers ?
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2326
Liked: 387 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: Console need update, but is already updated

Veeam Logoby KeiichiKun » Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:40 am

Yes.
But problem is recent, about a couple of weeks ago everything was working fine
KeiichiKun
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 40
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:59 pm

Re: Console need update, but is already updated

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:44 am

Then I have no idea, sorry. Let´s wait until our support had the chance to look at the logs (this Forum is not part of our support organization).
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2326
Liked: 387 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: Console need update, but is already updated

Veeam Logoby DeadEyedJacks » Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:52 am

Just to add me too.

We also see this behaviour of the console apparently applying updates dependent on which Veeam Backup instance you connect to.
In theory all instances are on identical version, as are consoles, and all had seem update sequence.
DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 99
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Location: UK
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks

Re: Console need update, but is already updated

Veeam Logoby KeiichiKun » Mon Oct 23, 2017 4:20 pm 1 person likes this post

Andreas Neufert wrote:Did you installed the patch on both B&R Servers ?

Support asks me the same thing, so I've checked again.. and yes, patch was only on one server.
I've patched the other one and everything works fine
Thanks!
KeiichiKun
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 40
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:59 pm

Re: Console need update, but is already updated

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:23 am

OK thanks for the feedback. Then it is clear.

When you open a console and connect to a B&R Server it will look if the client has latest DLLs. If youinstall Update or Patch it will automatically be distributed to the client. If you connect to an older system, this change is reverted.

So that´s why you were not able to login to both systems at same time.
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2326
Liked: 387 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest