Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 283
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Consolidate Helper/VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT snapshots

Post by Daveyd » Dec 16, 2010 7:15 pm

I am using Veeam 4.1 in virtual appliance mode. I had some issues with the Veeam VM while it was doing backups. I know have a couple of VMs with VERY large snapshots named VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT as well as other VMs with VERY large snapshots named Consolidate Helper- 0.

What is the best way to remove theses snapshots with the least impact on the VMs? Simply deleting the snaps? I obviously want to kepp the most current verison of the VM intact while getting rid of the snaps

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24802
Liked: 3561 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Consolidate Helper/VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT snaps

Post by Gostev » Dec 16, 2010 7:43 pm

Yes, just remove them and they will be commited into main virtual disk files. Make sure to start the process during off hours, because it may take a while (a few hours for large snapshots), and will affect VM I/O performance.

I don't know if you have searched the forum before posting the above, and saw this already... but this may come handy if you have issues removing those snapshots:
Unremoved snapshots after hard failure of the backup server

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 283
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: Consolidate Helper/VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT snaps

Post by Daveyd » Dec 16, 2010 7:53 pm

I did see that post that you mentioned but the guy had mentioned powering off the VM, which in my case, I cannot do. I just wanted to make sure that I could just delete both kinds of snaps without powering off the VMs and all would be well

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24802
Liked: 3561 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Consolidate Helper/VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT snaps

Post by Gostev » Dec 16, 2010 8:11 pm

Oh well, then let's hope this will work without having to apply this workaround. ;)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Meto, vbokashov and 40 guests