CPU Licensing

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

CPU Licensing

Veeam Logoby keurdange » Tue May 16, 2017 10:56 am

Hello,

I am new to veeam and I have veeam backup & replication.
I purchased 1 CPU license but applied it to the the server
which has actually 2 CPU.

I want to know what are the consequences for doing that.

Thanks in advance for your help.
keurdange
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 10:46 am
Full Name: Sylvestre BELKOULAYO Mbayhamnodji

Re: CPU Licensing

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue May 16, 2017 11:31 am 1 person likes this post

You'll need to upgrade the license to 2 sockets so you can correctly backup the infrastructure.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1630
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: CPU Licensing

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Tue May 16, 2017 11:35 am 1 person likes this post

Hi and welcome to the community!

Basically, you wouldn't be able to backup any VMs on the host before the license upgrade. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 620
Liked: 72 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: CPU Licensing

Veeam Logoby keurdange » Tue May 16, 2017 11:50 am

Hi and thank you for your help,

Indeed, I can't backup. But there is a way to tell veeam to work only with 1 CPU? (Before I order the second license).
Or, I need absolutely to buy a second license before continuing?

(Sorry if my english was bad, I'm a french speaker).
Thanks again for your help.
keurdange
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 10:46 am
Full Name: Sylvestre BELKOULAYO Mbayhamnodji

Re: CPU Licensing

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue May 16, 2017 11:58 am

This is sadly not possible, just like in VMware you can't know which CPU is being used or not (in an easy way).
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1630
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: CPU Licensing

Veeam Logoby keurdange » Tue May 16, 2017 12:40 pm

Ok, thanks for your answer.
keurdange
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 10:46 am
Full Name: Sylvestre BELKOULAYO Mbayhamnodji

Re: CPU Licensing

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Tue May 16, 2017 12:51 pm

Sylvestre,

Have you already obtained 30-day free trial Veeam B&R license, if not, then use it until you upgrade the one you bought. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 620
Liked: 72 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], CharlesMak, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 1 guest