Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
stevil
Expert
Posts: 112
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 02, 2010 2:23 pm
Full Name: Steve B
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Dedupe off but still deduping?

Post by stevil »

Hi,

I have a backup job that has dedupe and compression disabled as we are testing backing up to an IBM N3300 filer which has its own deduplication. I happened to check the backup properties this morning and noticed that compression in 100% for all restore points but dedupe is 46% for the full backup and around 80-90% for incrementals.

Has the dedupe setting not been activated for some reason?

Cheers

Alexey D.

Re: Dedupe off but still deduping?

Post by Alexey D. »

Hello Steve,

We've just followed your scenario and dedupe goes off, as it has to be... Please contact our support team, they will investigate. Thanks!

Alexey D.

Re: Dedupe off but still deduping?

Post by Alexey D. »

Update:

Even if dedupe is actually OFF, it is ok to have numbers such as in your case (46%, 80-90%) - because when processing a VM, B&R skips blocks with zeroes. This leads to smaller backup size, even when compression and dedupe are disabled.

stevil
Expert
Posts: 112
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 02, 2010 2:23 pm
Full Name: Steve B
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Dedupe off but still deduping?

Post by stevil »

Ahh, now that makes more sense. I'm running a fresh job to be confirm anyway but I suspect you're right ;)

stevil
Expert
Posts: 112
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 02, 2010 2:23 pm
Full Name: Steve B
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Dedupe off but still deduping?

Post by stevil »

OK, my test job finished, 90GB Data size, 59GB Backup Size, 65% de-dupe ratio. So, you are right :)

Alexey D.

Re: Dedupe off but still deduping?

Post by Alexey D. »

Ok, so maybe you may use this number (59GB) as a starting point in your IBM N3300 tests? Since this ratio will not change.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 29 guests