Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
miklaw2
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 02, 2010 10:02 pm
Full Name: Mike Lawrence
Contact:

Disaster Recovery Test

Post by miklaw2 »

Quick question...we have a Disaster Recovery test starting Wednesday which Veeam is a vital part.
Can I use our current license file for that or do I need to get a temporary license file?
thanks in advance!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26701
Liked: 4276 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Disaster Recovery Test

Post by Gostev »

Hi Mike, please elaborate your question a little... how are you going to use the file?

miklaw2
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 02, 2010 10:02 pm
Full Name: Mike Lawrence
Contact:

Re: Disaster Recovery Test

Post by miklaw2 »

The plan is to get Veeam up and running at IBM's Cold site in NY
We will have virtual center and 5 WMware hosts with 2- 4 CPUs each (we have 20 hosts with 58 processors at home)
Import VKBs
Restore VMs from them and run
We will not be backing up any of them only restoring them....

I think when installing if you don't tell Veeam about a license file that it defaults to 2 or 4 processors which will not be enough or if you are restoring only it doesnt matter?
This is only for a test... in a real disaster we would be restoring our world at the

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26701
Liked: 4276 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Disaster Recovery Test

Post by Gostev »

You can install as many Veeam Backup servers as you like with your current license, we do not charge for additional backup servers, nor do we charge for restore/replication target hosts. Total number of source sockets on hosts you are backing up or replicating from is all we care about. License is not even checked during restore jobs. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 28 guests