Does deleting a backup job leave the associated files?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Does deleting a backup job leave the associated files?

Veeam Logoby NoZaku4U » Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:48 pm

Hello!

First, sorry for what is probably a very simple question. I am both very new to Veeam and very hesitant to lose any backup data.

Second, if I delete some backup jobs which have been disabled for months, and are no longer needed, it will not remove any of the historical backups created by those jobs, correct?


We were backing up a group of servers via a job which held a few years worth of periodic restore points. The servers have been decommissioned and the job disabled. It has been a few months now and we are looking to clean up Veeam a bit. If we delete the disabled backup jobs, am I correct in my understanding that this will not affect the existing backups on disk?


Thanks!
NoZaku4U
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:36 pm

Re: Does deleting a backup job leave the associated files?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:30 pm 1 person likes this post

Correct, deleting jobs from Veeam B&R UI doesn't affect backup files.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Does deleting a backup job leave the associated files?

Veeam Logoby NoZaku4U » Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:36 pm

Thanks much!
NoZaku4U
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:36 pm


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 19 guests