Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
wksantiago
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 02, 2009 6:36 pm
Full Name: William K. Santiago
Contact:

DR Site Replication

Post by wksantiago » Sep 23, 2010 4:12 pm

I have the following scenario:

Production Site:
3 ESX hosts
4 VMs
1 Veeam Backup Server v4.1.2
1 VeamWare vSsphere vCenter v4.1

DR Site:
3 ESX hosts
4 VMs_replicas
1 Veeam Backup Server v4.1.2
1 VeamWare vSsphere vCenter v4.1

My main production site is destroyed by a falling meteor.

I am left with 4VMs_replicas at the DR site.

What shall I do next? Run the wizard on the Veeam Backup server to do a fail over? Or do I just turn on the VM_replicas?

Lets say that days later our Production site is up and running and the meteor never destroyed the Production site. Obviously it it not being used as Production yet so no connectivity to the DR site, but we can turn on the original VMs there. How do we go about rolling back from the DR site to production since now the DR site has been running production data.

Thanks,

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22538
Liked: 1476 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: DR Site Replication

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 23, 2010 4:38 pm

Hello William,

Please have a look at existing topics with all your questions answered:

http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.p ... t+replicas - describes failover option
http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.p ... ver#p17386 - describes failover option in details
http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.p ... ack#p14618 - about rolling backup from DR back to production

Thank you!

wksantiago
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 02, 2009 6:36 pm
Full Name: William K. Santiago
Contact:

Re: DR Site Replication

Post by wksantiago » Sep 24, 2010 7:18 pm

Gostev replied in the above post:
Re: Replication and failback
by Gostev » Fri Jul 10, 2009 11:22 am

Hello Andrew, there is no option to sync back to original VM at the moment, so if you want to move your VM back to original ESX host and cannot use VMotion or offline VM copy with FastSCP, you need to create new replication jobs to replicate your VM back, and then perform failover to it using the newly created job. We do plan to add automated failback feature in the future releases.
Gostev
Product Manager

Posts: 5009
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 9:01 pm
Full Name: Anton Gostev


Does this still apply to the current version 4.1.2 and 5.0?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24186
Liked: 3308 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: DR Site Replication

Post by Gostev » Sep 24, 2010 7:32 pm

Yes.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DaveWatkins and 24 guests