Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
jsc8041
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 19, 2015 9:29 pm
Full Name: Claude Choi
Contact:

Enterprise Manager and Failover Plans

Post by jsc8041 » Apr 09, 2015 11:32 pm

I currently have a number of VM's replicating to a DR site and have a Failover Plan created.

Our Veeam Backup server is in our production site.

Our Veeam Enterprise Manager server is in our DR site.

Both the Veeam Backup and Backup Reporting databases are in our production site, but are being replicated via Veeam to the DR site.

My question is, if our production site went down, would I still be able to use the Failover Plan from the Enterprise Manager portal?

I imagine that I would have to first bring up (from a vSphere console) the replica SQL server that holds the two databases and re-install Enterprise Manager and point it to the replica server instances?

Would you recommend migrating the Backup Reporting database to the DR site?

Would that even help? I'm guessing that execution of the Failover Plan is dependent on the Backup Server and its database being up and running.

Thanks again for your time.
Claude

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17440
Liked: 1553 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager and Failover Plans

Post by veremin » Apr 10, 2015 8:44 am

In order for Failover Plan to take place both EM and VB&R server should be up and running. Thanks.

jsc8041
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 19, 2015 9:29 pm
Full Name: Claude Choi
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager and Failover Plans

Post by jsc8041 » Apr 13, 2015 4:35 pm

Would it be possible to create VB&R server at the DR site and connect it to the same SQL instance as the Production site VB&R server?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18792
Liked: 1650 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager and Failover Plans

Post by foggy » Apr 13, 2015 4:36 pm

Different Veeam B&R servers cannot share the same database.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17440
Liked: 1553 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager and Failover Plans

Post by veremin » Apr 14, 2015 10:25 am

However, you can have a standby server in DR site. If production one goes down, you will need to restore server configuration to the DR backup server and perform whatever operation you want to.

Otherwise, make your backup server virtual and replicate it to DR site.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], GeorgeV and 65 guests