Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
lewisdrummond
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 06, 2010 8:04 pm
Contact:

Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores?

Post by lewisdrummond »

I have dowloaded the five or so .exe files for the various Application-Level Restore Tools. When I install them, I am prompted for my Enterprise Manager IP address/port. Is this really needed? Isn't the Enterprise Manager just for managing multiple Veeam Backup instances?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26917
Liked: 4372 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by Gostev »

Yes, Enterprise Manager is much more now than it used to be in v4, and has much more additional functionality beyond just central monitoring and management. With v5, it also enables federated guest file search, and facilitates separation of privileges in application item recovery workflow (which is essentially about granting access to sandboxed VMs for item-level recovery).

However, using this workflow (and so the Enteprise Manager) is not mandatory for application item recovery, so if you have a small environment, and you are the only IT guy there (pretty much), then you obviously do not want to issue and approve requests for yourself to be able to do the job. In that case, you can simple right-click the desired VM in the running SureBackup job session, and launch item-level restore wizard directly from the shortcut menu.

lewisdrummond
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 06, 2010 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by lewisdrummond »

To clarify, there is no need to install anything else then?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26917
Liked: 4372 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by Gostev »

For single admin scenario - no, you do not need to install anything else. Just go ahead and accept default address and port in AIR wizard setup. It will not be used unless you try to issue lab request (which is a part of separation workflow).

lewisdrummond
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 06, 2010 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by lewisdrummond »

It doesn't let me continue the installation. It says 'unable to establish connection'....

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26917
Liked: 4372 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by Gostev »

I see, looks like last minute "bug" fix that had slipped by me. I will ask to make this optional in the next update. Meanwhile, for now it sounds like you need to deploy Enterprise Manager. Just go ahead and put it on the same server with Veeam Backup, it consumes little to no resources anyway. All my labs are like that.

lewisdrummond
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 06, 2010 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by lewisdrummond »

Hmm - it requires IIS to install too...

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26917
Liked: 4372 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by Gostev »

Yes, it is has web UI. Sorry for any inconvenience this may be causing you.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26917
Liked: 4372 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by Gostev »

I just found that there is a workaround to bypass Enteprise Manager presence. You can specify any other real server and open port, for example: yourwebserver, 80. Setup wizard only checks if selected port listens, nothing else.

lewisdrummond
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 06, 2010 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by lewisdrummond »

Thank you - this works!

ldeeder
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 22, 2010 3:24 pm
Full Name: Larry Deeder
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by ldeeder »

Gostev,

You locked my other post so I have to reply here. The procedure above is exact what I followed that lead me to my post. I set the server and port to another web server in my network and the installation completed but I cannot get the Virtual Lab Manager Settings to accept an IP address or port. I get the error: Authentication failute. Unable to read data from the transport connection: The connection was closed.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26917
Liked: 4372 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by Gostev »

Yes, this is expected. Since you did not specify Enterprise Manager server as required, you obviously cannot use U-AIR workflow which relies on Enterprise Manager as broker. Without Enterprise Manager, you can only do application-item recovery direct from running SureBackup job session, as explained in my first post in this thread.

lewisdrummond
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 06, 2010 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by lewisdrummond »

In that case, you can simple right-click the desired VM in the running SureBackup job session, and launch item-level restore wizard directly from the shortcut menu.
I don't see where to do this - can you clarify?

lewisdrummond
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 06, 2010 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by lewisdrummond »

Nevermind. With this functionality, I can't see the advantage of Enterprise Manager in a one-admin or trust-all-admins shop. What is 'federated guest file search'?

joergr
Expert
Posts: 386
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by joergr »

something very interesting. ever wondered how you could crawl your whole backups of any virtual machine at any time for a special file without even the need to know on which virtual server or at which timeline it resides? you got your answer.
best regards, Joerg

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26917
Liked: 4372 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by Gostev »

As soon as you have more than one Veeam Backup server in your environment, you will immediately find Enterprise Manager very useful. Although, guest file search is still useful even when you have a single Veeam Backup server. But again, if you are only backing up few VMs, you may not need this capability.

bunger
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Jun 23, 2010 5:39 pm
Full Name: Bill Unger
Contact:

[MERGED] Enterprise Manager Required for AIR wizards?

Post by bunger »

Is Enterprise Manager Server and Web Site required to run/use the AIR wizards?

tia,
Bill

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26917
Liked: 4372 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Required for AIR wizards?

Post by Gostev »

No, it is not required. And in fact this exact question is already answered in the sticky FAQ topic. Please, be sure to read it before posting. Thanks!

bunger
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Jun 23, 2010 5:39 pm
Full Name: Bill Unger
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Required for AIR wizards?

Post by bunger »

Gostev wrote:No, it is not required. And in fact this exact question is already answered in the sticky FAQ topic. Please, be sure to read it before posting. Thanks!
I checked the FAQ topic, but only saw how you can do item level restores using OWA, etc. Is that the same topic?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Bill, please take a look at the second post in this section for the answer. Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26917
Liked: 4372 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by Gostev »

U-AIR Workflow section of the FAQ, second question. Although it would be better to read the whole FAQ ;)

trackstar
Expert
Posts: 140
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 11, 2013 9:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by trackstar »

Gostev wrote:U-AIR Workflow section of the FAQ, second question. Although it would be better to read the whole FAQ ;)
Can somebody point me to the link. From reading the posts and other threads, it looks like the backup job has to be run from SureBackup before it can be restore using AIR without the Enterprise Manager? I am talking about version 7. :shock:

I am reading this:

http://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/70/u ... rkflow.htm

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26917
Liked: 4372 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager Needed for Application-Level Restores

Post by Gostev »

See sticky topic on this forum, right next to the New Topic and highlighted in yellow.
With or without Enterprise Manager, under the hood the process is the same.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests