Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Robdigi
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 11, 2011 5:46 pm
Contact:

Enterprise Manager

Post by Robdigi » Jan 05, 2012 7:24 pm

Can Enterprise manager be used for managing licenses only?

I want to install the full version of Veeam 6 at each site location. I want the jobs controlled locally at the site, but I want each group of licenses to be managed by an Enterprise Manager installation.

Thanks in advance.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3707
Liked: 655 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jan 05, 2012 10:04 pm

You can have multible veeam Backup & Replikation Server controlled by a central Enterprise manager. The enterprise manager controles your licenses,too. You have to consolidate your licenses to a Single license over our license portal.

Andy

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24431
Liked: 3406 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by Gostev » Jan 05, 2012 10:52 pm

Enteprise Manager pushes the license file you install into it to every backup server connected, and ensures that total number of sockets used is not exceeded across all backup servers. This is why you need to consolidate your licenses in case if you now have multiple license files (one license file per each backup server). Thanks.

Robdigi
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 11, 2011 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by Robdigi » Jan 06, 2012 2:38 pm

So, just to be clear... I do not want to control these backup servers with Enterprise Manager. I only want Enterprise Manager to handle the consolidated license file.

If this is possible, what license file do I use when I do a standalone install. There doesn't appear to be a way to point the Veeam installer to Enterprise Manager to retrieve a license.

Does Veeam need to be "Pushed" from the Enterprise Manager. If so, is it pushing a full copy of Veeam to the backup server?

The reason I ask is that I need local admins to have full control of backups and restores.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24431
Liked: 3406 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by Gostev » Jan 06, 2012 6:38 pm

You can use the same license file to install backup servers as the one you add to Enterprise Manager. In fact, you can use any license file at all for the installation purposes, it does not matter because as soon as you add backup server to the Enterprise Manager, it will push its license to backup server and overwrite whatever license the backup server has installed. Thanks.

Robdigi
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 11, 2011 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by Robdigi » Jan 06, 2012 6:57 pm

That answered my question. Thanks for the help.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cdoerrenberg, falkob, ferrus, Google [Bot], restore-helper and 50 guests