Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Locked
wksantiago
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 02, 2009 6:36 pm
Full Name: William K. Santiago
Contact:

Enterprise Manager : XML parsing error

Post by wksantiago » Oct 29, 2009 3:25 pm

We just installed and upgraded Veeam Backup 4.0 and Enterprise Manager on the same machine.

We can log in to Enterprise manager with no problem.

We were able to add a Backup Server but when we manually start collecting it gives us the following errors:

Time Type Information
10/29/2009 10:47 Success Data collection job started.
10/29/2009 10:47 Success [10.11.40.174] Retrieving data...
10/29/2009 10:47 Error [10.11.40.174] XML parsing: line 1, character 4607, illegal name character
10/29/2009 10:47 Error [10.11.40.174] Data collection failed.
10/29/2009 10:47 Success Data collection job finished.

We cannot see any VMs or Jobs

Thanks,

mdornfeld
Expert
Posts: 125
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2009 4:44 pm
Full Name: Matt
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by mdornfeld » Oct 29, 2009 3:40 pm

Along this line... I swear it worked fine in Beta3, but it appears to be broken now.

I get this error when checking status: "Backup Servers"
XML parsing: line 16, character 91, semicolon expected

I also notice that when I update the config, the backup status is not updating immediately even when I hit the refresh. For instance, I went into the configuration -> backup servers and edited my config and gave it a whole new name. Seems to take a few minutes to update.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24939
Liked: 3622 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by Gostev » Oct 29, 2009 4:00 pm

William, did you use some special chars anywhere?

We will need the service log to be able to say for sure what is causing this, you can find the log path listed on the Configuration|About page of the web UI, for me it is:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Application Data\Veeam\Backup\VeeamBES.log

Matt, please send us these logs too, we will investigate your problem as well. Have you upgraded from BETA3 by any chance?

mdornfeld
Expert
Posts: 125
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2009 4:44 pm
Full Name: Matt
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by mdornfeld » Oct 29, 2009 4:10 pm

Beta3 I ran on a VM. This install is a straight update from the Veeam 3.1 release on my production box. I'll get the logs over. 3 things that I noticed that may or may not help.
1. I never rebooted after installing IIS (production box is Windows 2003 R2)
2. On install, DNS was actually screwed up for my production box. I have since fixed it with no luck.
3. The local "administrator" user on our box is renamed.

I would reboot right now, but I have a job running.

I'll get the logs over.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24939
Liked: 3622 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by Gostev » Oct 29, 2009 5:35 pm

We've identified the issue, thank you for the logs. It is indeed due to presence of special symbols, developers forgot to "escape" some of those properly. We will prepare a hot fix for this issue, and support will send it to you once it has been verified.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24939
Liked: 3622 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by Gostev » Oct 29, 2009 6:00 pm

William, please do not post the logs here - instead, please send the logs to support@veeam.com.
This way, you are also tracked as having the issue, and will get the fix once available.

wksantiago
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 02, 2009 6:36 pm
Full Name: William K. Santiago
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by wksantiago » Oct 29, 2009 6:05 pm

Great!

Thanks and sorry for the log thing! :wink:

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24939
Liked: 3622 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by Gostev » Oct 30, 2009 11:06 am

The fix is already available, if you are having this issue - please contact support!

mdornfeld
Expert
Posts: 125
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2009 4:44 pm
Full Name: Matt
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager : XML parsing error

Post by mdornfeld » Oct 30, 2009 1:19 pm

Put the fix in my implementation. I had to remove the backup server from the configuration and re-add it to get it to register as healthy, but everything is working well now.

satheesh
Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 06, 2009 8:12 pm
Full Name: Satheesh Varadharajan
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager : XML parsing error

Post by satheesh » Oct 31, 2009 4:28 pm

Hi! I too have this problem. Any solution available? :roll:
Satheesh.net

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24939
Liked: 3622 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager

Post by Gostev » Oct 31, 2009 5:37 pm

Yes, check out my previous post :)

satheesh
Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 06, 2009 8:12 pm
Full Name: Satheesh Varadharajan
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager : XML parsing error

Post by satheesh » Oct 31, 2009 5:44 pm

Ok - I've sent an e-mail to support... Thank you!
Satheesh.net

TechHead
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager : XML parsing error

Post by TechHead » Nov 09, 2009 4:21 pm

Any news on a fix for this?

Thanks,


Simon

mdornfeld
Expert
Posts: 125
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2009 4:44 pm
Full Name: Matt
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager : XML parsing error

Post by mdornfeld » Nov 09, 2009 4:44 pm

Yes Simon. Contact Support and they'll get you the fix.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24939
Liked: 3622 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enterprise Manager : XML parsing error

Post by Gostev » Dec 18, 2009 1:33 pm

Fixed in version 4.1

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hiroyuki Uemura, matthewkwarburton and 13 guests