Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
AlexL
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 24, 2010 8:55 am
Full Name: Alex
Contact:

error link-cloned mode - please help

Post by AlexL » Oct 18, 2010 11:18 am

During a backup of a VM (named ASK) the job got stuck. I'm using appliance mode (VM named VEB). After 24h I tried stopping the job. Tried that again every hour for 4 more hours. Still nothing. Restarted the VEEAM service, still running. Finally I booted the backup appliance VM.

I tried removing the veeam snapshot on the VM being backuped up (ASK). This seemed to fail with error: unable to access file <unspecified filename> since it is locked.

The snapshot is gone though in the GUI, but in the datastore browser I still see the files. If I look at the disks in the VM configuration I see the disks pointing to the snapshot (files ending with -000002.vmdk)?

I noticed I had 3 disks of the VM (ASK) that was being backuped up still attached to the appliance VM (VEB). I removed those (selecting remove from VM only). That went without problems.

Now I try to migrate the VM named ASK, I get the following error:

A general system error occurred: The virtual machine has virtual disk in link-cloned mode that prevents migration.

Please advise me in how to process and how to clean up the mess.

PS.. the VM ASK (with the problems) is running production data for a large customer and cannot be shutdown easily.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22694
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: error link-cloned mode - please help

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 18, 2010 11:42 am

Hello Alex,

First of all, you want to make sure you're using the latest version of Veeam Backup and Replication, secondly, please look at the topic below, which will guide you through the proper steps of removing orphaned snapshots (which were left by VMware):
http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.p ... t=30#p9455 (pages 3-4)

This should help you to clean up the mess. Thanks!

AlexL
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 24, 2010 8:55 am
Full Name: Alex
Contact:

Re: error link-cloned mode - please help

Post by AlexL » Oct 18, 2010 12:43 pm

Are you refering to the post made by zeki at Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:44 pm?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22694
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: error link-cloned mode - please help

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 18, 2010 1:26 pm

Yes, I was referring to that very post and another one made by Personne at Tue Dec 01, 2009 7:22 pm

AlexL
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 24, 2010 8:55 am
Full Name: Alex
Contact:

Re: error link-cloned mode - please help

Post by AlexL » Oct 18, 2010 4:24 pm

ahh.. the post from Personne put me in the right track. Seem I had it almost fixed myself. I only needed to create a snapshot and do a remove all... No downtime and fixed within a minute or so.

Thanks for the quick replies.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AdsBot [Google], anthony_b, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 24 guests