Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
m.novelli
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 365
Liked: 43 times
Joined: Dec 29, 2009 12:48 pm
Full Name: Marco Novelli
Location: Asti - Italy
Contact:

ESXi replication

Post by m.novelli »

Hi, now Veeam 4.1 can replicate ESXi 4
But I need to understand that: replica destination MUST be an ESX server, not ESXi, right?
There is any plan to add ESXi 4 as destination?
Thanks,

Marco

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24243
Liked: 1859 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: ESXi replication

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Marco,

No, you can replicate directly to ESXi host, but you should use the latest version of Veeam Backup and Replication which is 4.1, actually we are the first vendor to introduce this capability :) For detailed information on supported configurations please refer to our release notes.

Thank you!

m.novelli
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 365
Liked: 43 times
Joined: Dec 29, 2009 12:48 pm
Full Name: Marco Novelli
Location: Asti - Italy
Contact:

Re: ESXi replication

Post by m.novelli »

Wooooow :)
Just one more question: do I need vCenter for ESXi to ESXi replication?

Marco

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24243
Liked: 1859 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: ESXi replication

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Marco,

No you don't need to have vCenter in order to do ESXi to ESXi replication, you can add both ESXi hosts as standalone to the Veeam Backup console.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 32 guests