Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
complexxL9
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 20, 2012 2:51 pm
Full Name: Aurimas Navardauskas
Contact:

Exchange 2010 bakcups

Post by complexxL9 » Oct 20, 2012 3:14 pm

Hi,
can I backup Exchange 2010 on VMware with Standard edition of Veeam 6.1?
If yes, can it do mailbox level data restores?
If no what do I need to be able to do exchange 2010 backups with Veeam? (enterprise license? some addons/plugins etc.?)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 bakcups

Post by Gostev » Oct 20, 2012 6:53 pm

Hi,

Yes, you can backup fine - but item level restore requires Enterprise Edition license.

Thanks!

complexxL9
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 20, 2012 2:51 pm
Full Name: Aurimas Navardauskas
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 bakcups

Post by complexxL9 » Oct 21, 2012 12:20 pm

So in standard edition my only option is to restore whole database, attach it to mailbox server in restore mode and search for required mailbox?
Is there any guide or blogpost how item level restore procedure looks on Veeam Entreprise?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 bakcups

Post by Gostev » Oct 21, 2012 6:20 pm

1. Yes.
2. Check out the sticky FAQ topic.

By the way, the upcoming 6.5 release introduce this capability for Standard Edition as well > Veeam Explorer for Exchange. However, full range of Exchange recovery functionality would still require Enterprise Edition license.

complexxL9
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 20, 2012 2:51 pm
Full Name: Aurimas Navardauskas
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 bakcups

Post by complexxL9 » Oct 21, 2012 9:02 pm

Thanks, but I did not find any info on "single item recovery" in the faq.
Anyway I've googled a bit please confirm if I understood correctly:

a) To be able to do single item recoveries for exchange in Veeam 6.1 I need to set up Virtual Lab which is only available in enterprise edition.
b) In upcoming 6.5 I will be able to do single item recoveries using Veeam explorer for Exchange which will be available with standard edition (no virtual lab required?).

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 bakcups

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 21, 2012 10:11 pm

a. Yes.
b. Correct.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 11 guests