Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
deduplicat3d
Expert
Posts: 100
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2011 8:21 pm
Full Name: Corey
Contact:

Exchange 2010 DAG Backup

Post by deduplicat3d » Dec 19, 2012 10:04 pm

Has anyone ran a Veeam backup on an Exchange 2010 database before you created the database copy? My Exchange consultant is thinking there is a possible bug in Veeam that would cause issues in that circumstance. I was unable to created a database copy on a database that I had run a Veeam backup on. The consultant said there were missing logs. When I dismounted, deleted all the logs, and then remounted it worked.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23062
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG Backup

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 19, 2012 11:07 pm

Hi Corey, what logs are you referring to? Transaction logs?

zoltank
Expert
Posts: 225
Liked: 37 times
Joined: Feb 18, 2011 5:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG Backup

Post by zoltank » Dec 20, 2012 1:25 am

What is the exact error you're receiving when you try to create the database copy? Is it by any chance a 245 error on the source server?

deduplicat3d
Expert
Posts: 100
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2011 8:21 pm
Full Name: Corey
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG Backup

Post by deduplicat3d » Dec 20, 2012 4:45 pm

Yes, the transaction logs. I need to check the exact error message, but what happened was an immediate fail and then after suspending and re-updating once or twice i would get stuck in resynchronization. Finally we fixed it by dismounting the DB, deleting all the logs and then remounting

zoltank
Expert
Posts: 225
Liked: 37 times
Joined: Feb 18, 2011 5:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG Backup

Post by zoltank » Dec 20, 2012 4:53 pm

What I dealt with sounds similar to your situation:
http://itmorsels.blogspot.com/2012/06/2 ... py-in.html

I didn't find it to be connected to Veeam.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23062
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG Backup

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 20, 2012 4:55 pm

Ok, do you have "application-aware image processing" option enabled? How is the log truncation configuration set for your job? You can check that though via Guest Processing -> Advanced -> pick the VM you need -> Edit -> Applications.

davidb1234
Expert
Posts: 151
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Nov 15, 2011 8:47 pm
Full Name: David Borden
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG Backup

Post by davidb1234 » Dec 21, 2012 1:47 pm

MIcrosoft does not support snapshot based backups(vmware, Veeam) on DAGs.

chrisdearden
Expert
Posts: 1530
Liked: 225 times
Joined: Jul 21, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Chris Dearden
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG Backup

Post by chrisdearden » Dec 21, 2012 4:02 pm 1 person likes this post

davidb1234 wrote:MIcrosoft does not support snapshot based backups(vmware, Veeam) on DAGs.
I think you'll find that only covers non application aware snapshot based backups.

zoltank
Expert
Posts: 225
Liked: 37 times
Joined: Feb 18, 2011 5:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG Backup

Post by zoltank » Dec 21, 2012 10:46 pm 1 person likes this post

davidb1234 wrote:MIcrosoft does not support snapshot based backups(vmware, Veeam) on DAGs.
When Application-Aware is turned on the snapshot is created using Microsoft VSS which is the Microsoft supported backup method for Exchange 2010.

deduplicat3d
Expert
Posts: 100
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2011 8:21 pm
Full Name: Corey
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG Backup

Post by deduplicat3d » Dec 22, 2012 6:15 pm

Yes I am using application aware processing and agreed that it is supported.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], oleg.feoktistov and 49 guests