Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Walter
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 02, 2011 4:02 pm
Full Name: Walter Huether

Exchange 2010 Mailbox Restore

Post by Walter » Sep 02, 2011 4:13 pm

I am able to backup my Exchange 2010 server (non SP1) in application mode and the logs are cleared. When I use the Exchange AIR application to restore a mailbox, it tells me I need exchange 2010 with SP1. What's up with that?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23015
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 Mailbox Restore

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 04, 2011 8:46 pm

Hello Walter,

You should be running latest versions of Exchange 2003, 2007 or 2010 to perform application item restores as per System Requirements that can be found in Exchange AIR Release Notes document.

Thank you.

Walter
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 02, 2011 4:02 pm
Full Name: Walter Huether

Re: Exchange 2010 Mailbox Restore

Post by Walter » Sep 06, 2011 3:17 pm

So I am able to backup my Exchange 2010 non SP1 server, but I am unable to perform application item restores until I upgrade to Exchange 2010 SP1 ?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23015
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 Mailbox Restore

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 06, 2011 3:27 pm

As far as I know SP1 for Exchange 2010 contains very serious and critical bug fixes, that affect restore functionality, so that's right you need to update your Exchange server as per our requirements.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24820
Liked: 3577 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 Mailbox Restore

Post by Gostev » Sep 06, 2011 9:38 pm

Exchange 2010 SP0 (RTM) does not implement EWS API fully (according to API specification).
Yes, features get cut in the release rush, being Product Manager I can understand that ;)

Exchange 2010 SP1 implements EWS API fully, which is why it is a requirement for Exchange AIR wizard.

Hobbes57
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 27, 2010 4:16 pm
Full Name: Tyler Misel
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 Mailbox Restore

Post by Hobbes57 » Oct 11, 2011 6:10 pm

If we upgrade Exchange to SP1, can we run an AIR job from an older restore point? Is it just the existing server that needs to be updated, not the Exchange software in the recovery point?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24820
Liked: 3577 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 Mailbox Restore

Post by Gostev » Oct 11, 2011 6:28 pm

Both needs to be up-to-date. SP0 does not have all APIs fully implemented (release rush?), so there is simply no supported way to get the data out of it correctly.

chimera
Enthusiast
Posts: 57
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 09, 2009 1:00 am
Full Name: J I
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 Mailbox Restore

Post by chimera » Oct 11, 2011 9:14 pm

Whether you are or are not able to restore with or without SP1 applied should be irrelevant - why on earth would you NOT be installing Exchange 2010 SP1?!! It has some MAJOR fixes in it and is alot more stable than non-SP1!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24820
Liked: 3577 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 Mailbox Restore

Post by Gostev » Oct 11, 2011 9:41 pm

That's true, at Veeam we only upgraded to Exchange 2010 once SP1 became available ;)

Hobbes57
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 27, 2010 4:16 pm
Full Name: Tyler Misel
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 Mailbox Restore

Post by Hobbes57 » Oct 17, 2011 7:14 pm

Meh, we have some engineers that are not exactly....zealous....about updates when they come out. After reading the release notes, I would have to agree that SP1 is fairly critical.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ChrisTong, DGrinev, PetrM and 60 guests