Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
JaFF
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 22, 2010 4:16 am
Contact:

Exclude time window for Replication job

Post by JaFF »

Is it possible to exclude certain time windows for a replication job?

For instance I want to replicate an SQL VM every 15 minutes or lower but 3 times a day we also run SQL maintenance plan backups and at a later stage we also run a Tape based backup.
All of these solutions use VSS and we have encountered issues in the past with all three processes running.

Would it be possible to have a replication schedule that runs all the time but then pauses replication say between 12pm - 1pm, and 5pm - 6pm. ?

Cheers,

j

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Exclude time window for Replication job

Post by Gostev »

Yes, look closer at the job scheduling options for periodic replication.

JaFF
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 22, 2010 4:16 am
Contact:

Re: Exclude time window for Replication job

Post by JaFF »

Thanks! I don't actually own the product yet but will be running up a trial shortly.
Actually, I am running vReplicator at the moment.

Is it possible to have a transition stage where I am still replicating with vReplicator and Veeam?

The only worry I have is that two replication products will be making snapshot calls to vCenter at potentially the same time (but to different VMs).
I don't think locking will be an issue. I'm on vSphere 4.1 and also only have 2-3 VMs be LUN max at this stage.

Cheers,
J

Alexey D.

Re: Exclude time window for Replication job

Post by Alexey D. »

Since both products do not process single VM at the same time, for me it looks like no problems. It's ok to make snapshots of different VMs at the same time.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Exclude time window for Replication job

Post by Gostev »

Actually, I do not see any problems even if you process the same VM at the same time with different products.

JaFF
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 22, 2010 4:16 am
Contact:

Re: Exclude time window for Replication job

Post by JaFF »

Thanks for your assistance. I'll be getting a trial up and running as soon as possible.

J

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JuliusMensing and 29 guests