Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
kkitzul_SE
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 22, 2013 9:01 pm
Full Name: Kyle
Contact:

Feature Request - Alert when drive is removed from source

Post by kkitzul_SE » Oct 22, 2015 2:02 pm

Currently, when a hard drive is removed from a source server it still remains on the replica. It would be nice if the software would include some kind of warning or informational alert stating that the replica does not match the source.

Ideally it would be even better if we had the option to make the software remove the drive on the replica as well.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Alert when drive is removed from sourc

Post by foggy » Oct 22, 2015 3:31 pm

Removing the drive on the replica VM is not possible, since prior to the next job run the VM configuration will be reverted to the current snapshot (and removing it from all the restore points would mean losing the ability to restore that disk to any point within the specified retention). That said, displaying a warning message in the job session looks like a reasonable suggestion (unless it is already there). Thanks!

kkitzul_SE
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 22, 2013 9:01 pm
Full Name: Kyle
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Alert when drive is removed from sourc

Post by kkitzul_SE » Oct 23, 2015 9:07 pm

It would be the same steps as when the source VM has a disk increased in size.

All snapshots would be removed from the replica, the disk(s) would be deleted and a new snapshot would be created. You would lose all previous restore points, but that happens already when a disk size changes on the source VM.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Alert when drive is removed from sourc

Post by foggy » Oct 26, 2015 10:18 am

In case of disk size change this is done as we would not be able to continue replication otherwise. In case of disk removal the job can continue fine, so keeping all restore points is preferable.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], JLundgren, Matthias.Mehrtens, vishalgupta and 60 guests