Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Jaoibh
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 18, 2014 10:26 am
Full Name: David Gargan
Contact:

Feature request: exclude a Directory

Post by Jaoibh » Mar 18, 2015 12:43 pm

Hi All,

I'm running my file server in a hyper-v cluster in Dublin, Ireland.
I'm replicating 4.5TB across the Atlantic using our High capacity low latency fiber connection to the East coast of the USA.
And 1TB back from the USA to Dublin.

I have Veeam running on both clusters in the US and Ireland.

The feature I need from you is:
To exclude a directory from the file level backup.

Currently you will allow exclusion of a Volume or a VM.
I need the ability to exclude my DFS Cache directory from the backup job as its making my Reverse incremental backups balloon in size.

I am currently looking at a work around for this as per Veeam supports request, this will let me move my DFS cache to a new volume.
But our company had significant interruption through the initial pre-seed of the DFS servers and I'm hoping to avoid it this time if possible.

If anyone else has this problem I'd be interested in your solutions.

Thank you in advance.

David

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Feature request: exclude a Directory

Post by foggy » Mar 18, 2015 12:56 pm

David, Veeam B&R is an image-based backup solution, meaning that you can exclude entire virtual machine disks from processing but cannot exclude certain files/folders (other than the swap file that is excluded automatically) inside the guest OS. The entire VM disk is backed up, Veeam B&R is not even aware of its contents. Seems that the workaround proposed by support engineer is the only way to address your concern.

Jaoibh
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 18, 2014 10:26 am
Full Name: David Gargan
Contact:

Re: Feature request: exclude a Directory

Post by Jaoibh » Mar 18, 2015 2:04 pm

Thanks for the reply Alexander.

Just because this is not a feature now doesn't mean it can't be.
All I'm looking for is the option to exclude a single folder.
I'm sure I'm not the only person to have come up with this problem.

Thanks
D

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Feature request: exclude a Directory

Post by foggy » Mar 18, 2015 2:07 pm

Yes, there was a couple of similar requests previously. Thanks for the feedback.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 16 guests