Feature Request: Global Re-IP rules or templates

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Feature Request: Global Re-IP rules or templates

Veeam Logoby skrause » Fri Jun 23, 2017 1:36 pm

Hi,

I am working on setting up a bunch of "return home" replication jobs for a failback to our production datacenter and would really like to see the ability to use the same Re-IP rule across multiple jobs.

Since Veeam added the wildcard to the last octet on Re-IP (I think that was in version 9 maybe?) and I don't have to make a rule for every single VM every job with a given set of networks for us has the same Re-IP settings, we just have to enter them in every time which is another chance for user input error.

Having a way to do Re-IP in a more centralized fashion would be cool.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 307
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Feature Request: Global Re-IP rules or templates

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:41 pm

You can automate this with our PowerShell:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95
Some of our customer do this by running this script in a loop at all Replica Jobs to set same Re-IP rules.
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2253
Liked: 375 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: Feature Request: Global Re-IP rules or templates

Veeam Logoby skrause » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:00 pm

Man, why are you making me do things with powershell, now I have to internally document that process too :p

Thanks for the info.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 307
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Feature Request: Global Re-IP rules or templates

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Tue Jun 27, 2017 5:57 pm

So sorry. This is a good future request....
Just an idea for you... If you create a "Template" Job, you can right click on it "clone" when you create a new job. That will streamline the process maybe. Of cause you can do it with an existing Job as well.
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2253
Liked: 375 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 33 guests