Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 344
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Job report from set period of time

Post by hyvokar » Nov 20, 2018 10:35 am

Shestakov wrote:
Nov 15, 2018 3:46 pm
I meant reports besides Backup Job Historical Information report. Curious if you find them working fast enough.
Please provide me step-by-step instructions for this one, since I dont know how to get any other than job report from a specific job.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6501
Liked: 628 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Job report from set period of time

Post by Shestakov » Nov 22, 2018 5:28 pm

It's in Veeam ONE, you go to Reporter and in Veeam Backup Monitoring report pack find the report.
Thanks

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 344
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Job report from set period of time

Post by hyvokar » Nov 30, 2018 8:58 am

Hi, I dont have Veeam One. This is a problem with backup & replication.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Maurice
Service Provider
Posts: 25
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 26, 2014 7:59 am
Full Name: Maurice Galicic
Location: Münster, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Job report from set period of time

Post by Maurice » Feb 12, 2019 12:20 pm

Shestakov wrote:
Nov 16, 2018 6:27 pm
Hi Maurice,

Could you elaborate which reports takes too long(with numbers)? By the way, what product version are you at? We made big improvements in latest releases.

You can leverage report scheduling mechanism.
Hi Shestakov,

it's about the reports of Backup Jobs and for a job which runs for years now it takes about 10 to 15 minutes to generate the html report (because it pulls out of the db every session since 54 weeks ago). In this time the GUI is not useable and i need to open a new one to go on working.

The customer does not have Veeam One. So i have to work with what i have.


Regards
Maurice

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6501
Liked: 628 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Job report from set period of time

Post by Shestakov » Feb 12, 2019 3:37 pm

10-15 minutes is not instant, but not that long, especially if you set interval = 54 weeks. Such duration is normal for some jobs, so it's good to know exact report names.
How many backup servers, jobs and VMs are present in the reports?
The customer does not have Veeam One. So i have to work with what i have.
And what product version you are at?
Thanks!

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 344
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Job report from set period of time

Post by hyvokar » Feb 12, 2019 7:18 pm

I think there's actually option to show only x number of sessions in the backup report, but it does not seem to be working.
Tried setting options -> history -> show only last [5] sessions, but backup report still shows all the sessions.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Maurice
Service Provider
Posts: 25
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 26, 2014 7:59 am
Full Name: Maurice Galicic
Location: Münster, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Job report from set period of time

Post by Maurice » Mar 18, 2019 8:28 am

Shestakov wrote:
Feb 12, 2019 3:37 pm
10-15 minutes is not instant, but not that long, especially if you set interval = 54 weeks. Such duration is normal for some jobs, so it's good to know exact report names.
How many backup servers, jobs and VMs are present in the reports?

And what product version you are at?
Thanks!
It's not that long, but there is no hint how long it would take, etc. The GUI just goes "Not Responding" and thats it. Many customers of ours are confused by it and don't know if it's generating or just not working anymore. Why not showing a window like "Generating Report. Please Wait... Estimated Time Remaining: x minutes". Having an option where i can set the time window for that report would still be awesome, too. Sometimes i just care for a specific time window and not for the session report 54 weeks ago.

hyvokar wrote:
Feb 12, 2019 3:41 pm
I think there's actually option to show only x number of sessions in the backup report, but it does not seem to be working.
Tried setting options -> history -> show only last [5] sessions, but backup report still shows all the sessions.
This option just limits the sessions shown in the GUI. It has nothing to do with the Report Generation itself.


Regards
Maurice

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6501
Liked: 628 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Job report from set period of time

Post by Shestakov » Mar 18, 2019 12:38 pm

It's not that long, but there is no hint how long it would take, etc. The GUI just goes "Not Responding" and thats it. Many customers of ours are confused by it and don't know if it's generating or just not working anymore. Why not showing a window like "Generating Report. Please Wait... Estimated Time Remaining: x minutes". Having an option where i can set the time window for that report would still be awesome, too. Sometimes i just care for a specific time window and not for the session report 54 weeks ago.
It shouldn't go to "not responding", but show "loading". If you see "not responding", please contact the support team. "Estimated time" makes sense as well as more friendly message than just "loading", we will take it into account. Thanks!
By the way, what product version are you at?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DaveWatkins, Karinne, vishalgupta and 33 guests