Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
masonit
Service Provider
Posts: 238
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus
Contact:

Feature request - Manage quiescence per VM

Post by masonit » Feb 13, 2018 8:43 am

Hi

Would be good if we could control quiescence per VM instead of per job. Ex: If we have a job with both VMs that need application aware and quiescence. Then we are unable to add a VM to that job that should run without application aware and quiescence. It works but it will always show a warning. Often about lack of vmware tools on VM (appliance).

\Masonit

mma
Service Provider
Posts: 99
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Dec 22, 2011 9:12 am
Full Name: Marcel
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feature request - Manage quiescence per VM

Post by mma » Feb 13, 2018 9:30 am

+1
We had to create a job for Linux VMs without VMware tools.

jochot
Expert
Posts: 108
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jul 13, 2017 12:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature request - Manage quiescence per VM

Post by jochot » Feb 13, 2018 10:14 am

If you go to Guest Processing and click on the "Applications..." Button, you can remove Objects there. (If it's a full Host you can remove that host and add the VM's you want AAP for)
Additionally, you can go to "Edit..." and change the radio buttons from "Require succesful processing" to "Try application processing, but ignore failures" to get a "success" even though the AAP didn't work.

mma
Service Provider
Posts: 99
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Dec 22, 2011 9:12 am
Full Name: Marcel
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feature request - Manage quiescence per VM

Post by mma » Feb 13, 2018 1:04 pm

AAP is not the same as quiescence. Yo can control AAP per VM, but quiescence is a global option per job.

Yes you can ignore fails, but if I have enabled AAP and quiescence I like to have a warning or an error if it fails.
We like to have the option to disable quiescence for a single VM and still get a warning if it fails on a VM where it should work.

myFist
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Nov 29, 2017 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature request - Manage quiescence per VM

Post by myFist » Jul 09, 2019 6:42 am

+1 per vm quie.

masonit
Service Provider
Posts: 238
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus
Contact:

Re: Feature request - Manage quiescence per VM

Post by masonit » Nov 01, 2019 10:30 am

Hi

Will this ever happen? :)

\Masonit

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18552
Liked: 1606 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Feature request - Manage quiescence per VM

Post by foggy » Nov 01, 2019 10:54 am

Hi Magnus, as usual, cannot comment on the future, but your request is noted.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25285
Liked: 3756 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feature request - Manage quiescence per VM

Post by Gostev » Nov 01, 2019 1:26 pm

Hi, Magnus.

As you can see from this thread, this has been the unique request thus far, so there's no chance we'll be able to prioritize it for short-term delivery against other pending features with hundreds of requests behind.

However, I'm just wondering - what is the reason of using VMware Tools quiescence for you? I mean, there's nothing special it can do that you cannot do with application-aware processing?

Thanks!

masonit
Service Provider
Posts: 238
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus
Contact:

Re: Feature request - Manage quiescence per VM

Post by masonit » Nov 20, 2019 3:51 pm

Hi Gostev

Sorry for late reply. We use quiescence for Linux vms. For almost all Windows vms we use aap. Our standard backup job have quiescence and aap enabled. We then mix Windows and Linux vms in same job. Couple of days ago there was one Windows vm that had quiescence issues that we don´t run aap on. The Windows vm needed a restart but that was first possible some days later. I had to disable quiescence on the entire job. Leaving all Linux vms in the job to run without quiescence. Would be alot better if I could disable quiescence for specific vm.
\Masonit

nmdange
Expert
Posts: 482
Liked: 121 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature request - Manage quiescence per VM

Post by nmdange » Nov 20, 2019 7:48 pm 1 person likes this post

Why not just have 2 jobs, one for app-aware and one for native quiescence?

masonit
Service Provider
Posts: 238
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus
Contact:

Re: Feature request - Manage quiescence per VM

Post by masonit » Nov 21, 2019 10:04 am

Can't see how it would help to split jobs like you mentioned. I would still have to disable quiescence on the entire quiescence job.

We have hundreds of jobs. I prefer the logic to be handle in VBR. Than we manually have to split jobs because of lack of available options.. :)

\Masonit

masonit
Service Provider
Posts: 238
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus
Contact:

Re: Feature request - Manage quiescence per VM

Post by masonit » Dec 03, 2019 7:34 am

Atleast would be better if quiescence is not tried when aap is set to "Try aap processing, but ignore failures.

\Masonit

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: billy.tsang, Google [Bot], mkretzer and 47 guests