Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
rdmtech
Service Provider
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 17, 2010 7:19 pm
Contact:

Feature Request: Restore to different platform

Post by rdmtech » Nov 08, 2012 7:46 pm

I have numerous clients jumping ship from VMWare to Microsoft now that Hyper-V 3.0 is out. It would be an awesome feature to allow restoration/migration to/from ESX to Hyper-V or vice versa for that matter. It would also be great if you got rid of licensing ESX and Hyper-V hosts separately. Just license by the CPU, but don't differentiate platform. That way your clients can switch platforms without the need for new licensing.

Just a thought.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24612
Liked: 3463 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: Restore to different platform

Post by Gostev » Nov 08, 2012 8:14 pm

rdmtech wrote:I have numerous clients jumping ship from VMWare to Microsoft now that Hyper-V 3.0 is out. It would be an awesome feature to allow restoration/migration to/from ESX to Hyper-V or vice versa for that matter.
Why not use free VM conversion tools which both vendors mentioned provide for this exact purpose?
rdmtech wrote:That way your clients can switch platforms without the need for new licensing.
I have always considered platform switch to be more or less "once-in-a-life-time" event due to all the complexity and work involved... am I completely off base?

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5707
Liked: 1607 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: Restore to different platform

Post by dellock6 » Nov 08, 2012 10:03 pm 1 person likes this post

No, you are completely right.
I've done several platform switches, all of them towards vSphere but coming from every other, Hyper-V or Xen and even Kvm. It's always a pita to be honest, long conversion times, drivers for virtual hardware to be removed/installed, downtime of many services.
It's not at all something a customer want to do on a regular base....

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

ravelin
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 48
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 30, 2012 9:37 am
Full Name: Kenneth Westergaard
Contact:

[MERGED] Moving from one VMWare hosting vendor to another wi

Post by ravelin » Dec 12, 2012 2:37 pm

Hi
Is it possible to use VEEAM to transfer between the hosts?
Basicly I have a lot of hosts at a hosting provider. We are moving to our own HyperV server.
Can I backup using VEEAM, and restore to the HyperV host?

Otherwise it seems I have to make a dummy VMWare installation, restore to that, then convert the vmdk to vhd files.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22860
Liked: 1538 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: Restore to different platform

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 12, 2012 5:21 pm

Hi Kenneth, consider simply using hypervisor vendor tools to migrate your VMs to the required platform. Those tools are free. Thanks!

redhulk
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 07, 2013 6:54 am
Full Name: peter valerio
Contact:

[MERGED] restoring from backups without original host

Post by redhulk » Jan 07, 2013 7:02 am

Hello everyone, Im sorry of this question has been as ask before but I really need some help. I recently installed Veeam with a 30 days trial license. I ran backups of my 3 test servers that where running on Microsoft Hyper-V server. The backups ran successfully and are safe on my external nas. I then reformatted my server and installed VMware 5.1 esxi. Can I restore my servers (veeam backups) without the original Microsoft hyper-v server? Am I screwed?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], corsico93 and 32 guests