Feature Request v9.5: Can we get Reverse Replication back?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Feature Request v9.5: Can we get Reverse Replication back?

Veeam Logoby stjfcic » Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:12 pm

At least just for Planned Failovers. It makes running extended tests of the DR site less of a headache. I remember this being a feature in v8 but for some reason it seems to have taken a hike.
stjfcic
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 3:45 pm

Re: Feature Request v9.5: Can we get Reverse Replication bac

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:16 pm

Hello and welcome to the community!
Do you mean Replication Failback?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Feature Request v9.5: Can we get Reverse Replication bac

Veeam Logoby stjfcic » Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:20 pm

Thanks!

No, failback implies that I'm moving production back from my DR site (Site B for simplicity) to my Main site (Site A). No I'm just talking strictly reversing the flow of replication jobs after a failover from Site B to Site A.
stjfcic
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 3:45 pm

Re: Feature Request v9.5: Can we get Reverse Replication bac

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jun 06, 2017 4:15 pm

I'm not sure Veeam B&R ever did this. What it did and still does is reconfiguring replication job to add the original VM to exclusions. But I can't recall it created a reversed replication job, this had to be done manually.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Feature Request v9.5: Can we get Reverse Replication bac

Veeam Logoby stjfcic » Tue Jun 06, 2017 4:38 pm

Maybe I mis-read something (Edit: I DEFINITELY mis-read something. Sorry about that, it wasn't ever a feature, my bad.), but that's neither here nor there with regards to the request. Currently we are replicating every 30 minutes (15 in some cases) to minimize data loss.

If we need to test the functionality of our DR site, my bosses would like peace of mind and want that test to run a full month (at least). As part of that we need to then replicate our machines from Site B to Site A for that month just in case something were to happen at Site B.

As it sits right now, unless I've missed something, in order to do that I would have to:

1. Have replication jobs running from Site A to Site B
2. Run a planned failover for all VMs from Site A to Site B
3. Permanently failover all VMs to Site B
4. Delete all VMs on Site A
5. Create NEW replication jobs to replicate the servers from Site B to Site A
6. Delete all old replication jobs as they are now obsolete

And when we fail back in a month I would have to do this whole procedure all over again.

We have the bandwidth and infrastructure to support this kind of a procedure but having Veeam shortcut the whole procedure since we're talking about servers that should be in the same state at failover (or at least very close) would be very handy rather than me having to go through and manually rebuild 19 jobs.
stjfcic
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 3:45 pm

Re: Feature Request v9.5: Can we get Reverse Replication bac

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jun 06, 2017 4:51 pm

I understand your scenario. As a workaround, to minimize amount of work, you could have two sets of jobs in both directions and use them depending on the location where VMs are currently running.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Feature Request v9.5: Can we get Reverse Replication bac

Veeam Logoby skrause » Tue Jun 06, 2017 5:32 pm

I am in the middle of setting up the Step 5 for failback of our production VMs and I used replica seeding to use the original VMs as the seed. So far in my initial testing it seems to be working fine and should alleviate the need to for step 4. (We have issues with being able to recover deleted thin-provisioned blocks on our storage so the fewer mass deletions I have to do the better).

Granted, we don't use Veeam replication for anything with a high change rate so YMMV.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 296
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Feature Request v9.5: Can we get Reverse Replication bac

Veeam Logoby stjfcic » Tue Jun 06, 2017 5:40 pm

Yeah, I was going to try using replica mapping for the reverse jobs. Just bothers me that now I've got a list of 38 jobs instead of 19.
stjfcic
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 3:45 pm

Re: Feature Request v9.5: Can we get Reverse Replication bac

Veeam Logoby skrause » Tue Jun 06, 2017 6:06 pm

I always replicate from a Veeam server at the target location so that in a DR scenario I am not relying on a B&R configuration that is in the location that is not in ideal operating shape. Of course, a "reverse this process" being built into the same jobs would be nifty.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 296
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Feature Request v9.5: Can we get Reverse Replication bac

Veeam Logoby johnlong » Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:20 am

So basically a move option. Where you would move VM's in a replica job to site b and veeam automatically reverses replication to site A using the VM's already there saving the time in having to do a full replication or having to recreate the jobs in reverse.

I use a different software to replicate my VM's and it has this option. It's really nice. Maybe when Veeam implements true CDP in version 10 this will be possible. (Fingers crossed)
johnlong
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 72
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 3:37 pm


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 35 guests