Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
jspeicher
Service Provider
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 09, 2013 7:49 pm
Full Name: Jason
Contact:

Feature Requst: Wan ACC able to use man job as a source

Post by jspeicher » Mar 13, 2015 6:07 pm

We're finding that the WAN accelerator feature is extremely limiting in its current form, due 2 reason.

1. For an ISP that uses veeam internally for hosted environments we need to pull/push vm's from one location to another in a different part of the country. Using a WAN ACC for this, we can only do 1 concurrent backup copy job at a time because WAN ACC only allows 1 source job to run per WAN ACC.

2. Cannot use 1 WAN Accel for both target and source. This is somewhat understandable, but would be great to get around this in the future as well.

At this time we'll need to scale out a number of source VM's just to be able to push data to secondary locations, and it starts to defeat the purpose of using the WAN Acc tech, when we can have multiple streams flowing without using it.

Allowing the source WAN accel to have multipe jobs/threads processed at a time would allow us to better utilize and plan for growth. Right now, we'd almost need 1 WAN accel for every 2-3 backup copy jobs we're pushing across a 100mb pipe from DC to chicago. Then if we have a customer that wants data we host for them copied to their office on a daily basis, we'd probably need 1 WAN accel for each of these instances.

It seems a bit of an overkill to have so many WAN Accel's just so that we can process jobs at the same time. Without doing this we must schedule the backup jobs and copy jobs in a way to not utilize the source WAN accel at the same time.

Would be great to hear if there is something being done about #1, and even #2.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24787
Liked: 3518 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feature Requst: Wan ACC able to use man job as a source

Post by Gostev » Mar 13, 2015 8:08 pm

Are you testing this with v8?
jspeicher wrote:1. For an ISP that uses veeam internally for hosted environments we need to pull/push vm's from one location to another in a different part of the country. Using a WAN ACC for this, we can only do 1 concurrent backup copy job at a time because WAN ACC only allows 1 source job to run per WAN ACC.
So let's say if we add this capability, and if today you are processing a single Backup Copy job can be processed at 10MB/s (raw data processing speed), then with that feature you will have two Backup Copy jobs going both at 5 MB/s. Will this really change much in the bigger picture?
jspeicher wrote:2. Cannot use 1 WAN Accel for both target and source.
Can you please clarify this part? Same WAN Accelerator being source WAN Accelerator for an outgoing Backup Copy job, and target WAN Accelerator for an incoming Backup Copy job? If yes, then this is actually possible?

jspeicher
Service Provider
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 09, 2013 7:49 pm
Full Name: Jason
Contact:

Re: Feature Requst: Wan ACC able to use man job as a source

Post by jspeicher » Mar 13, 2015 8:34 pm

#1 There are cases where we are going to 3 different locations each outbound pipe would be 100mb on a 1GB link going to 3 different locations, this would be a good option. We have customers that require we copy their backups to a location at their office. We can also push a lot of data outbound , where the bottle neck maybe the storage and not the the network, and the stores are stored at different locations.
If we have a WAN accelerator with 8GB of RAM and 8 CPU, and a 1GB pipe for outbound traffic, would make sense to allow multiple threads for outbound.

#2 I believe this was recommended that we do things this way by your support team.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24787
Liked: 3518 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feature Requst: Wan ACC able to use man job as a source

Post by Gostev » Mar 13, 2015 9:24 pm

jspeicher wrote:#1 If we have a WAN accelerator with 8GB of RAM and 8 CPU, and a 1GB pipe for outbound traffic, would make sense to allow multiple threads for outbound.
OK. This scenario WILL actually require multiple WAN accelerators regardless of anything else, because a single WAN accelerator can only saturate up to 100 Mbps link (or about 10MB/s raw data processing speed).
jspeicher wrote:#2 I believe this was recommended that we do things this way by your support team.
It's hard for me to comment on that. We have over a hundred people in support, with quite a few new hires, and I don't necessarily agree with each and every recommendation they give, as you can see from many of my forums posts ;) This is why we have these forums in the first place - so you guys have direct access into the R&D, and are able to double check if needed!

My main point is that the feature you are asking for is already present in the product. You should try it - and if it does not work well for you for whatever reason, then we will go from there to find out what is the issue, and what we can do about it.

jspeicher
Service Provider
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 09, 2013 7:49 pm
Full Name: Jason
Contact:

Re: Feature Requst: Wan ACC able to use man job as a source

Post by jspeicher » Mar 13, 2015 9:30 pm

but if it's only saturating 30mb's, shouldn't we be able to have 3 outbound processes on a single Wan accelerator hitting the 100mb threshold, or have that threshold increase in the future? We can currently process these jobs quicker without using wan accelerator, because we can run them at multiple different times across multiple proxies.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24787
Liked: 3518 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feature Requst: Wan ACC able to use man job as a source

Post by Gostev » Mar 13, 2015 9:40 pm 1 person likes this post

No. A single thread will saturate as much as the given WAN accelerator can. What you can do is investigate with support on what is the bottleneck, and how can you improve the processing rate. But the main point is, your WAN accelerator is already running into some bottleneck, so increasing the amount of processing threads would not help for sure.

As far as not using WAN Accelerators on 1Gbps bandwidth, actually many customers choose to do this (at least in cases when the link is not used by any other workloads), because this will work faster, and without extra complexity. Remember that our WAN Accelerators were designed to accelerate slow WAN links, so they really take their time picking raw data apart to save a byte or two, assuming WAN speed will be the main processing bottleneck anyway. Whereas with 1Gbps, we are talking about proper LAN speed that can be found in majority of existing data centers. May be we will build LAN Accelerators in future, but all we have now is WAN Accelerators only ;)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests