Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Spad
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 8:06 am
Full Name: Adam Beardwood
Contact:

FLR - Missing Disks

Post by Spad » Dec 13, 2010 11:01 am

I'm trying to do a FLR of a Server 2008 R2 VM with two disk drives (vmdks, not partitions) in 5.0 and it's only displaying partitions from the first hard drive. According to the backup logs it's backing up the right amount of data to account for both drives, but the 2nd one just isn't visible in the FLR browser.

Is this intended behaviour or am I missing something somewhere?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22999
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: FLR - Missing Disks

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 13, 2010 11:48 am

Adam, could you please try to use "Other OS" wizard to peform a FLR? Do see the same behaviour?

Spad
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 8:06 am
Full Name: Adam Beardwood
Contact:

Re: FLR - Missing Disks

Post by Spad » Dec 13, 2010 12:14 pm

Vitaliy, it works correctly using the "Other OS" wizard, showing both VMDKs, though obviously it's a slower process.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22999
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: FLR - Missing Disks

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 13, 2010 12:56 pm

I assume you have dynamic disks, which have limited support with built-in wizard as per Release Notes. Meaning that the only way is to use "Other OS" wizard if you need to perform a FLR from those disks. Thanks!

Spad
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 8:06 am
Full Name: Adam Beardwood
Contact:

Re: FLR - Missing Disks

Post by Spad » Dec 13, 2010 2:45 pm

Vitaliy, they're not dynamic disks, however they are GPT disks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22999
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: FLR - Missing Disks

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 13, 2010 3:33 pm

Well... that explains, GPT disks are also not supported with built-in FLR wizard. I personally always use "Other OS" wizard in my labs, as it supports a rich number of file systems and can be launched very quickly.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24802
Liked: 3561 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: FLR - Missing Disks

Post by Gostev » Dec 13, 2010 3:40 pm

Yep, this is documented in the System Requirements section of the Release Notes document.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests