Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
rfarquharson
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 29, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

folder exclusion question

Post by rfarquharson » Aug 30, 2011 5:31 pm

Is it possible to exclude a certain folder on a VM from replication. My understanding is that it is only possible to exclude VM" disks not contents within ?


Sorry if this was asked but i did try and search the forum couldn't find an answer.


Thanks,

rich

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24474
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: folder exclusion question

Post by Gostev » Aug 30, 2011 5:53 pm

Hi Rich, your understanding is correct. Thanks!

rfarquharson
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 29, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: folder exclusion question

Post by rfarquharson » Aug 30, 2011 5:56 pm

Thanks Gostev, will this be a new feature in v6 ?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24474
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: folder exclusion question

Post by Gostev » Aug 30, 2011 6:03 pm 1 person likes this post

No. Our solution backups and replicates on image-level, and the image is replicated as a whole.

larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 92 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

Re: folder exclusion question

Post by larry » Aug 30, 2011 7:26 pm

You can sort of. Create a new VM disk, format it, then mount it as a folder as the name of the folder you want to exclude/ In veeam exclude the new VM disk.
see http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307889

In the sure backup lab you do get an error as the vm boots but it still comes up.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], GMellor, jbcap, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 25 guests