Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Force Backup & Replication to use more Bandwidth

Post by ejleipold » May 08, 2012 6:47 am

Hi Guys,

Is there any way to make Backup & Replication use more bandwidth across a WAN?

I'm currently running Veeam Backup & Replication 6.0.0.181 (64 bit) to reverse incrementally send backups to our local datacentre across our 20Mbps WAN link.

It's working, but it's quite slower than expected as Veeam doesn't seem to be consuming hardly any of the available bandwidth. I was just wondering if there was anyway to make it use more.

I've double check that there is no throttling configure on the backup proxy and I know that the source is all good as I also run backups to my internal NAS and it's very fast.

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: Force Backup & Replication to use more Bandwidth

Post by ejleipold » May 08, 2012 6:48 am

Oh and I've also made sure the 'Use multiple TCP/IP connections per job' box is checked under Network Traffic Throttling.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5734
Liked: 1625 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Force Backup & Replication to use more Bandwidth

Post by dellock6 » May 08, 2012 8:17 am

Hi Evan,
are you using a single proxy server locally that sends data across the wan link to the central storage? What are the bottleneck stats of your job?
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24789
Liked: 3523 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Force Backup & Replication to use more Bandwidth

Post by Gostev » May 08, 2012 10:21 am

Luca is spot on, sounds like you simply have not deployed the solution correctly for the remote backup scenario... WAN optimization functionality requires that there is an agent on both side of that 20Mbps link (proxy agent in the "source" site and repository agent on the "target" site). Thanks.

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: Force Backup & Replication to use more Bandwidth

Post by ejleipold » May 14, 2012 12:02 am

Ah doh, the other end is datacentre hosted storage (not my own equipment) so I dont know if I can setup another proxy. I know that they run Veeam as well though for their hosted virtual environment, perhaps I could tap into that....

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: Force Backup & Replication to use more Bandwidth

Post by ejleipold » May 14, 2012 12:08 am

Sorry yes, I am currently using a single server proxy at my source end to send reverse incremental across the WAN to the datacentre storage cloud.

My bottlenecks are Busy: Source 59% > Proxy 4% > Network 1% > Target 81%

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5734
Liked: 1625 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Force Backup & Replication to use more Bandwidth

Post by dellock6 » May 14, 2012 12:11 pm

so, this is an expected behaviour. Talk with your hosting provider if they can setup a remote proxy in their location and connect it to your veeam server, then setup your jobs accordingly configuring also a remote repository. Reverse incremental requires some IO operations on the target storage so it's better to keep them at the target site instead of ping-ponging these ops through the wan.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: Force Backup & Replication to use more Bandwidth

Post by ejleipold » Jul 15, 2012 4:13 am

Well I finally gave my old datacentre the flick as they just ignored my requests to use their Veeam server. So I've gone to a new datacentre that has given me access to an onsite server that I've installed Veeam on.

Can anyone point me in the direction of the best practice to configure two veeam servers on either side of a WAN to place nice and perform reverse incrementals in the most efficient manner?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22988
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Force Backup & Replication to use more Bandwidth

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 15, 2012 8:51 pm

The recommendation is pretty simple, deploy proxy servers close the VMs you're backing up and deploy Windows or Linux repositories on the remote site.

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: Force Backup & Replication to use more Bandwidth

Post by ejleipold » Jul 16, 2012 1:21 am

When I setup the backup job, do I point it at the proxy closest to the VM (LAN side) or the proxy on the repository (WAN) side?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22988
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Force Backup & Replication to use more Bandwidth

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 16, 2012 7:52 am

For the most efficient data retrieval process local proxy servers (the ones that are located near source VMs) should be used.

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: Force Backup & Replication to use more Bandwidth

Post by ejleipold » Jul 17, 2012 2:34 am

Thanks mate

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: glamic26, gtsjoen, oleg.feoktistov and 65 guests