Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
NetWise
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 26, 2009 5:52 pm
Full Name: Avram Woroch
Contact:

Force use of proxy

Post by NetWise » Mar 23, 2012 1:49 pm

I am unable to find a way to force the usage of a Proxy on a VM by VM basis and I suspect there is not such a means.

Our issue is this - our backup server is on a non-clustered host, backing up clustered and non clustered resources. All remote hosts have 10GbE NIC's so they could connect to the cluster if needed or just for future growth. I fully suspect that the Veeam backup/proxy is detecting that the single standalone "Development" host is fast enough to provide data to it using itself as a Proxy. However, we have installed a Proxy on that Dev host manually because a) this drastically reduces the CPU load on the Veeam backup server and b) seems to take us from about 50MB/sec backups on the initial full to 95-105MB/sec which is both more than fine and probably the limit of the 1GbE NIC that they are talking to each other with.

The main reason we are doing this though, is to get rid of the 'warning' that comes up saying that "SAN transport cannot be used, failing back to NBD mode". This is a non SAN host, it shouldn't have SAN mode, and we do know that. But the only way currently to get around that is to create a separate job just for those VM's on that host and change the transport mode for the *job*. We would *very* much like to set the transport mode by VM and/or include ALL the VM's from that business unit (Production on the cluster, and Dev on the Dev host). Althought we have created a proxy on the non-clustered Dev host, and tested it with individual VM jobs to verify it works, when it is the Proxy that is forced, when we have the Proxy set to "Auto" for the job, it simply never 'chooses' to use this particular proxy for this particular job, and always uses the Veeam backup server itself to back it up.

Is there a means to:

a) change the transport mode per VM? This would/should then allow us to make the Dev VM's NBD mode so that it is not 'failing back', but using what was selected.
b) force a particular proxy to be used per VM? This would then let us have the Proxy do an VM Appliance Hot Add or NBD backup, which shouldn't give the error.
c) make "failing back to NBD mode" informational vs warning? This would also remove the error or at least it saying the backup ended in a "non-Success" state

Thanks much!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17715
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Force use of proxy

Post by foggy » Mar 23, 2012 3:23 pm

a) No.
b) No.
c) This warning will be switched to informational in one of the future updates.

NetWise
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 26, 2009 5:52 pm
Full Name: Avram Woroch
Contact:

Re: Force use of proxy

Post by NetWise » Mar 23, 2012 7:24 pm

A) Could there be?
B) Could there be?
C) I have heard that before, and am happy to hear it. Just waiting for that update as we try to see if we can find a work around.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5628
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Force use of proxy

Post by dellock6 » Mar 23, 2012 11:01 pm

Warning is a successful backup anyway, simply saying it was not completed as configured. I really do not understand why people are so anxious about a warning result. Take care of failed ones and ignore all the others ;)
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24019
Liked: 3254 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Force use of proxy

Post by Gostev » Mar 24, 2012 10:31 am

A) No, because a VM can be assigned to different proxy each time (and the specific proxy may not be able to perform the required transport mode). This adds more issues that it solves.
B) No, because this feature reduces backup reliability. If the proxy you forced the VM to is down, the VM will not have a backup created. Again, this feature adds more issues that it solves.

The correct way to achieve the desired results is to simply disable this warning.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Karinne, Pavel.Tyurin and 54 guests