Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
mephisto
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Nov 07, 2012 6:49 pm
Full Name: Mephisto poa
Contact:

Forever incremental merge after deleting VMs

Post by mephisto » Mar 10, 2015 10:35 am

Hi there,

After a VM has been deleted from a backup job and the retention period expires, what happens with the full backup file? Does the full backup file shrink?

I'm wondering what will happen when I delete a VM and run an incremental. I assume the next incremental will be smaller as the VM is not included, but the full backup will keep the old VM until retention expires, and then after it expires, what happens?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18790
Liked: 1650 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Forever incremental merge after deleting VMs

Post by foggy » Mar 10, 2015 10:44 am 1 person likes this post

There's a deleted VMs retention period setting that handles the behavior of the VBK file blocks belonging to removed VMs. Basically, the behavior is the same as for reverse incremental mode: after the specified amount of days, blocks belonging to the deleted VMs in VBK are marked as free and then can be re-used by the new data. To reclaim the space, you need to perform an active full.

mephisto
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Nov 07, 2012 6:49 pm
Full Name: Mephisto poa
Contact:

Re: Forever incremental merge after deleting VMs

Post by mephisto » Mar 10, 2015 10:56 am

Thanks for your reply :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], cmaier, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 54 guests