Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
kristofpoppe
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 18, 2012 1:19 pm
Full Name: Kristof Poppe
Contact:

Free 1Tb HP VSA: no valid license to use on V9 ?

Post by kristofpoppe » Jan 27, 2016 9:06 pm

Hi all,

Trying to setup my brand new V9 lab. Using the free 1TB HP Storeonce gives me the opportunity to play with a virtual tape library and a dedeup device.
Although, that was the idea.
After succesfull configuring the Storeonce, Tape library, my jobs fail when I try to write to the StoreOnce with an error: OSCLT_ERR_NOT_LICENSED Err:-1409 logs

Veeam supports asks my to verify the Catalyst license, but since this is a free HP virtual appliance I only see 'catalyst = activated' and the firmwarelevel meets the minimal requirements 3.13.1

Anybody any thoughts about this ?

Thanks !

Kristof

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3667 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Free 1Tb HP VSA: no valid license to use on V9 ?

Post by Gostev » Jan 28, 2016 12:25 am

Hi, Kristof. Did you have a chance to check with HP on this? ;)

kristofpoppe
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 18, 2012 1:19 pm
Full Name: Kristof Poppe
Contact:

Re: Free 1Tb HP VSA: no valid license to use on V9 ?

Post by kristofpoppe » Jan 28, 2016 9:43 am

Gostev, thanks for your reply. HP's only giving documentation on their free products. So I'm ploughing through their PDF's...

davide.depaoli
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 106
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Oct 28, 2012 6:06 pm
Full Name: Davide Depaoli
Location: Santhia' (VC) - Italy
Contact:

Re: Free 1Tb HP VSA: no valid license to use on V9 ?

Post by davide.depaoli » Jan 28, 2016 10:38 am

Kristof,I'm using in my lab StoreOnce 1TB free and it is working (as catalyast store as well as VTL and NFS share) with Veeam 9.
The StoreOnce release must be 3.13.1 (3.13.0 doesn't works).
------------------------------
Labinf SpA (formerly H.M.S. Sipac SpA)
Veeam Silver ProPartner

kristofpoppe
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 18, 2012 1:19 pm
Full Name: Kristof Poppe
Contact:

Re: Free 1Tb HP VSA: no valid license to use on V9 ?

Post by kristofpoppe » Jan 28, 2016 3:56 pm

Hi Davide, thank for your confirmantion, that is can work.

I'm on 3.13.1 so I must have overlooked some parmas I guess.

SBarrett847
Service Provider
Posts: 312
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Feb 02, 2016 5:02 pm
Full Name: Stephen Barrett
Contact:

Re: Free 1Tb HP VSA: no valid license to use on V9 ?

Post by SBarrett847 » Feb 02, 2016 8:23 pm

Hmm I'm also getting this error (Error: OSCLT_ERR_NOT_LICENSED. Err: -1409) However this is on our StoreOnce 4500 (v3.13.1) not a VSA - I just can't get it to work

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18439
Liked: 1588 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Free 1Tb HP VSA: no valid license to use on V9 ?

Post by foggy » Feb 02, 2016 10:13 pm

Have you checked the Catalyst license?

SBarrett847
Service Provider
Posts: 312
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Feb 02, 2016 5:02 pm
Full Name: Stephen Barrett
Contact:

Re: Free 1Tb HP VSA: no valid license to use on V9 ?

Post by SBarrett847 » Feb 03, 2016 3:38 pm

I'm not sure how to find that info now that I have to look for it - I've opened a call with HP in the meantime. Anybody here now where to find that info in the StoreOnce management Console?

davide.depaoli
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 106
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Oct 28, 2012 6:06 pm
Full Name: Davide Depaoli
Location: Santhia' (VC) - Italy
Contact:

Re: Free 1Tb HP VSA: no valid license to use on V9 ?

Post by davide.depaoli » Feb 05, 2016 7:42 am

Hi SBarrett847,
StoreOnce license info are available via CLI, using followign commands:
license show
license show summary
------------------------------
Labinf SpA (formerly H.M.S. Sipac SpA)
Veeam Silver ProPartner

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests