Fresh install B&R 9.5 but no Veeam Backup service registred

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Fresh install B&R 9.5 but no Veeam Backup service registred

Veeam Logoby kristofpoppe » Wed Nov 16, 2016 8:51 pm

I just grabbed the brand new 9.5 iso earlier this day and tried to install it on a fresh VM (2012R2)

Everything goes fine, but when I try to fire up the console, I get the message:

Failed to connect to the Veeam Backup & Replication server:
No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it <IP>:9392

DNS seems to be fine, firewall is disabled, SQL is running (the embedded SQL Express version), but I don't see a Veeam Backup Service registred under Services....

I was able to replicate this several times on new machines.

Anyone else had this problem faced before ?
kristofpoppe
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 1:19 pm
Full Name: Kristof Poppe

Re: Fresh install B&R 9.5 but no Veeam Backup service regist

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:21 pm

Just a friendly reminder - as requested when you click New Topic, you must include support case ID if you choose to post a query on any technical issue. Topics without support case ID are removed permanently by moderators. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21505
Liked: 2380 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Fresh install B&R 9.5 but no Veeam Backup service regist

Veeam Logoby jdavidson_waters » Thu Nov 17, 2016 11:23 am

Are you sure you installed Veeam backup, not just the console?

Easily done!
@jam_davidson
jdavidson_waters
Service Provider
 
Posts: 33
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 2:50 pm
Location: Northeast UK
Full Name: James Davidson

[MERGED] Noob Question

Veeam Logoby doughorton » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:29 pm

I just installed Veeam Free Backup and Replication. I started the program and am being asked to login to a backup server.

The default shows localhost and port 9392 and I am using Windows session authentication.

When I click "Connect" it tells me that it "Failed to connect to Veeam Backup & Replication Server". I checked firewall logs and the port is not being blocked.

What am I missing?
doughorton
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:21 pm
Full Name: Doug Horton

Re: Fresh install B&R 9.5 but no Veeam Backup service regist

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:41 pm

Hi Doug, looks similar to the above, so the same question: have you installed both Veeam B&R backup server and management console?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15086
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Fresh install B&R 9.5 but no Veeam Backup service regist

Veeam Logoby doughorton » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:53 pm

Thank you for the very fast reply! Are you referring to the "Backup Enterprise Manager"?
doughorton
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:21 pm
Full Name: Doug Horton

Re: Fresh install B&R 9.5 but no Veeam Backup service regist

Veeam Logoby jdavidson_waters » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:58 pm

Hi
See instructions on this page:
http://original-network.com/step-by-ste ... 5-install/

You've possibly just installed the console which is the link on the right hand side of the screen, but you need to hit "Install" on the left instead.
@jam_davidson
jdavidson_waters
Service Provider
 
Posts: 33
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 2:50 pm
Location: Northeast UK
Full Name: James Davidson

Re: Fresh install B&R 9.5 but no Veeam Backup service regist

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jan 03, 2017 4:00 pm

Exactly, on the setup splash screen you have three options to install: full Veeam B&R (the big green Install button), Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager, and Veeam B&R console.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15086
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Fresh install B&R 9.5 but no Veeam Backup service regist

Veeam Logoby doughorton » Tue Jan 03, 2017 4:04 pm

jdavidson_waters wrote:Hi
See instructions on this page:
http://original-network.com/step-by-ste ... 5-install/

You've possibly just installed the console which is the link on the right hand side of the screen, but you need to hit "Install" on the left instead.


That's exactly what I did. Thanks!
doughorton
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:21 pm
Full Name: Doug Horton

Re: Fresh install B&R 9.5 but no Veeam Backup service regist

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jan 04, 2017 9:55 am

Thanks for coming and confirming that following the installation guide has solved the issue for you; appreciated. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13558
Liked: 1006 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], MichaelCade, simonh-infopot, TitovLab and 53 guests