Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Pretzeldude
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 12, 2009 6:06 pm
Full Name: Ted Downs
Contact:

Hardware req advice for v6 backup proxy server (vCPU count)

Post by Pretzeldude » Dec 06, 2011 3:15 pm

Hello,

I've setup a new Veeam server as a VM (VMWare Esxi) with 8GB RAM and 2 vCPUs. Windows 2008 R2 Standard.

I've noticed that when I run backup jobs (even though they are successful) that the veeam agent is maxing out the CPU until the job finishes. The machine hardly responds to anything else until the job is done.

Any advice? Is this a bug or have I not applied enough resources for a backup server?

Thanks,
Ted

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Hardware req advice for v6 server

Post by foggy » Dec 06, 2011 4:20 pm

Ted, do you have your Veeam B&R server used as a backup proxy for your jobs? Actually, CPU saturation is quite normal in the case where the source storage performance allows very fast data retrieval (please look at this topic for some explanations). You could add more vCPUs to this VM to handle the load.

Pretzeldude
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 12, 2009 6:06 pm
Full Name: Ted Downs
Contact:

Re: Hardware req advice for v6 server

Post by Pretzeldude » Dec 06, 2011 5:22 pm

That was helpful. Thanks. I am using the B&R server as the proxy at this point. My jobs seem to be getting about 87MB/s throughput and the log says that the bottleneck is "source".

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Hardware req advice for v6 server

Post by Gostev » Dec 06, 2011 10:12 pm

So, how much CPU resources would you expect deduplication and compression of 87MB of data each second to take? This is pretty massive data stream, and compression is very CPU heavy task. Try simply zipping some big file (such as ISO) with Windows Explorer on the same server, and watch the CPU load.

As per our system requirements, 2 vCPU is a minimum. I always recommend going with at least 4 vCPUs with fast backup infrastructure.

Thanks!

stevenrodenburg1
Expert
Posts: 125
Liked: 19 times
Joined: May 31, 2011 9:11 am
Full Name: Steven Rodenburg
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Hardware req advice for v6 server

Post by stevenrodenburg1 » Dec 07, 2011 11:19 am

Pretzeldude wrote:My jobs seem to be getting about 87MB/s throughput and the log says that the bottleneck is "source".
I get that in our v6 Lab environment as well. Always "source" as the black sheep :-)
The Proxies now has 4 dedicated vCPU's (Xeon E3-1270 QC, one of the fastest per-core performing Xeons at the moment) but the bottleneck is still "source". Speeds hover between 85 and 90MB/s for a full backup.
Veeam just has an insatiable hunger. It always want more more more! :twisted:

All four CPU's hit the ceiling during jobs. In Virtual appliance mode, one must watch out for situations where the Veeam virtual appliance VM's monopolize a hypervisor with their greed :lol:

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Hardware req advice for v6 backup proxy server (vCPU cou

Post by Gostev » Dec 07, 2011 12:56 pm

Upgrade to vSphere 5 and go 8 vCPU for proxy VM, this will satisfy Veeam's hunger ;)

By the way, for those running jobs during production hours - remember that you can always reduce resource allocation for backup proxy VM to make sure other VMs on the same host are not affected by the "noisy neighbor".

bsousapt
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2011 9:16 pm
Full Name: Bruno Sousa
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Hardware req advice for v6 backup proxy server (vCPU cou

Post by bsousapt » Dec 16, 2011 3:55 pm

Pretzeldude wrote:Hello,

I've setup a new Veeam server as a VM (VMWare Esxi) with 8GB RAM and 2 vCPUs. Windows 2008 R2 Standard.

I've noticed that when I run backup jobs (even though they are successful) that the veeam agent is maxing out the CPU until the job finishes. The machine hardly responds to anything else until the job is done.

Any advice? Is this a bug or have I not applied enough resources for a backup server?

Thanks,
Ted

You could try to play around with compression levels and/or disable deduplication.
Like always in order to get some you will lose some, akA trade-offs :)

Bruno

gvinpin
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Hardware req advice for v6 backup proxy server (vCPU cou

Post by gvinpin » Dec 19, 2011 12:12 am

All depends if you are doing de-duplication and compression or not.
My v6 proxy server using 8GB SAN to access VM's and 10GB LAN to deposit data to Data Domain appliance.
CPU is about 1-2% utilisation on it, with 4 jobs running at the same time.
I am not using any Veeam compression or de-duplication, leaving the job to Data Domain appliance.

Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 160
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Contact:

100% CPU utilization on proxy

Post by Moebius » Jul 02, 2012 3:46 pm

[merged]

I just deployed a VBR proxy on a remote branch office datacenter. The datacenter consists in a single ESXi host with local storage. The remote backup repository is a Synology DS412+ NAS configured as a single iSCSI LUN. The VBR proxy is a Windows 2008 R2 vm configured with 2 vCPU and 4GB vRAM.

The backup jobs ran flawlessly with a decent throughput (50 MB/s for the full backups). However, I was suprised seeing the CPUs stuck to 100% for the whole job run. These were full jobs, so there was no CPU load due to the synthetic building phase.
I have never seen a similar behavior on the main Veeam server (console and proxy). The remote proxy has nothing installed on: it's just a plain vanilla Windows with only the proxy service deployed by the Veeam server.
Is such a high CPU utilization to be expected for a VBR proxy?

Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 160
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Contact:

Re: Hardware req advice for v6 backup proxy server (vCPU cou

Post by Moebius » Jul 02, 2012 4:13 pm

Thanks for moving my post to this existing thread, I hadn't noticed it.
I made a typo in my post. Actually the proxy has 4 vCPU and not 2. However, the veeam agent is maxing them out.
It makes sense that deduplication and compression take a heavy toll on the cpu's when the data flow from the source is good. Out of curiosity, I will run a test job with no compression and no dedupe.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Hardware req advice for v6 backup proxy server (vCPU cou

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 02, 2012 4:21 pm

Yes, the more CPU resources you have on your proxy server, the more concurrent jobs you will be able to run via this proxy server, reducing the compression level will also lower the CPU load on this proxy.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 12 guests