Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16815
Liked: 1358 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: how config backup proxy and repository for use free-LAN

Post by foggy » Dec 26, 2017 3:43 pm

A more common approach is backing up directly to some other storage.

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 1999
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: how config backup proxy and repository for use free-LAN

Post by vmniels » Dec 26, 2017 7:14 pm

Best practice is to backup to storage not related to production storage.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: how config backup proxy and repository for use free-LAN

Post by baber » Dec 26, 2017 8:26 pm

so thanks
but while we set backup proxy role to a vm while start backup the disk of machine will be hot add to backup proxy for get backup and after that will be release disk but now while our backup proxy role has been assigned to a physical server in this mode i think can not use hot add now what will be do ?

BR

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 1999
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: how config backup proxy and repository for use free-LAN

Post by vmniels » Dec 27, 2017 7:45 am

As Timothy has mentioned you will have to use directsan mode. This is configured as default. More info can be found in the userguide: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: how config backup proxy and repository for use free-LAN

Post by baber » Dec 28, 2017 5:06 am

in below scenario can i use LAN-FREE:

my veeam backup and replication has been installed on physical server and my backup proxy role also assign to veeam backup (physical server) and i have attached an external HDD as backup proxy to veeam server but my esxi hosts connected to NAS via lan and all of my vms put on NAS in this mode can i use LAN-FREE or can not ?

BR

tdewin
Veeam Software
Posts: 1322
Liked: 435 times
Joined: Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin
Contact:

Re: how config backup proxy and repository for use free-LAN

Post by tdewin » Dec 28, 2017 7:28 am

If you use NAS and a physical server, you'r traffic will flow over the network if using Direct NFS or NBD transport mode. However, normally a production NAS (e.g Netapp) is connected to a separate Ethernet Network / separate switches and so in Direct NFS mode, the data should only flow over that specific Ethernet Network and not the production network/

I guess LAN-free is an interesting topic but for me personally, I think it is better to have a good backup stored with the correct retention and applying the 3-2-1 rule (https://www.veeam.com/blog/how-to-follo ... ation.html), instead of focusing LAN-free.

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: how config backup proxy and repository for use free-LAN

Post by baber » May 09, 2018 1:37 pm

excuseme,
i confused you said don't save backups on same storage that vms has been created
now want to know if i want to use LAN-Free had to put backup proxy and backup repository on one physical server(here is veeam server) and this server had to link directly to SAN now in this mode will use LAN-Free?

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

[MERGED] connect directly storage to veeam

Post by baber » May 09, 2018 1:48 pm

Dear all
Hi

my storage ability is connect directly to veeam backup server now
1- i want to know in this mode can i just add storage to my veeam server instead of vcenter or esxi host ?
2-if answer of previous question is YES in that mode can i select each vm for backup or it will get backup from lun ?

BR

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4306
Liked: 355 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: connect directly storage to veeam

Post by PTide » May 09, 2018 2:45 pm

Hi,

Is it a repository storage, or a storage that hosts VMs' disks (vmdk)? If it's a repository, then what is the purpose of having VM storage which is not connected to vcenter or ESXi?

Thanks

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: connect directly storage to veeam

Post by baber » May 10, 2018 4:57 am

i think the correct method is connect repository directly to veeam
Is that correct ?

but actually i want use best method that not use from LAN
i have a physical veeam server and an EMC SAN. Do i have to use one SAN or 2 SAN(second san use for repository) as best practice now want to know can i use with on physical server as veeam and an EMC san as storage that hosts VMs' disks (vmdk) and Repository and my backup traffic not through from LAN?

BR

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4306
Liked: 355 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: connect directly storage to veeam

Post by PTide » May 10, 2018 1:58 pm

You can use as many SANs as you want - be it 1 or 2. However it does not make much sense to store backups on the same SAN with your VMs. If you want the traffic to stay out of LAN, you should use direct SAN method, or Hot-add (proxy appliance should also server as a repository in this case)

Thanks

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: connect directly storage to veeam

Post by baber » May 12, 2018 7:40 am

i understand if want to through traffic from san not from LAN had to keep backups and vms on same SAN
is that correct?

BR
Babak

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4306
Liked: 355 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: how config backup proxy and repository for use free-LAN

Post by PTide » May 12, 2018 12:36 pm

No.

With direct-SAN mode your backup proxy will read VM data directly from SAN, and you proxy must be physical in this case.
With hot-add mode your backup proxy should be a Virtual Machine on a host that is able to access the datastore where the source VM’s disks are stored. Also the proxy should also be a repository. That does not imply that proxy VM must be on the same datastore with your production VMs.

Regardless of the method that you choose, it does not make any sense to keep a VM and its backups on the same storage, because you'll lose everything in case the storage crashes.

Thanks

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: how config backup proxy and repository for use free-LAN

Post by baber » May 13, 2018 5:02 am

excuseme
i have 2 question:
1-My veeam Backup is a physical server that is connect directly to my SAN that my vms reside on that
on the other hand my proxy server rule has been assigned to that physical server (veeam backup server) now in this mode will my backup traffic pass through SAN or LAN?

BR
Babak

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16815
Liked: 1358 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: how config backup proxy and repository for use free-LAN

Post by foggy » May 14, 2018 3:08 pm

Traffic from SAN to backup server/proxy will pass through SAN fabric and then will go to the repository server.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AndrewPBG, daniel.triplehorn, Google [Bot] and 38 guests