Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
vaicsimmons
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Chris Simmons

How Does my Backup and Backup Copy Job Look?

Post by vaicsimmons »

I am new to Veeam B&R and I’m looking for some feedback on how I have configured by backup jobs.

Background….Veeam B&R is running on a physical server running Windows Server 2012 R2. The OS is running on two 256 GB SSDs in a RAID 1 configuration. I have another volume that is just under 30 TB in a RAID 6 configuration to hold by backups.

On the 30 TB volume, I have enabled deduplication using Server 2012 R2. The volume was formatted using /L and a 64KB cluster size. On that volume, I have the following directories:

Veeam/Backup and Replication/Repository/Daily
Veeam/Backup and Replication/Repository/Archive

I have excluded the Daily directory from having Windows Server 2012 run any deduplication.

I am backing up about 15 VMs that contain roughly 1 TB of data. Most of that data is on our file server and changes very little. Our other servers include a SQL and Exchange server.

With all of that said, here is how I have configured my backup jobs:

Daily Backup Job:

-Restore Points set to 14.
-I chose backup my vcenter cluster and excluded a few test VMs.
-Backups are running as incremental with an Active Full Backup taken every Saturday.
-I have enabled Inline Data Deduplication for this job.
-I have excluded Swap File Blocks from Processing (this is the default setting).
-The compression level is set to Optimal.
-Storage optimization is set to Local Target.
-Changed Block Tracking is enabled.
-Enable CBT for All Protected VMS Automatically is enabled.
-Use Storage Snapshots is enabled.
-Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks is enabled.
-Enable Application Aware Processing is enabled.
oIn these settings, Require Successful Processing is selected.
oIn these settings, Process Transaction Logs with This Job is selected.