Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
ruben
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

How to change location for the .vbk files

Post by ruben »

Hello!

We're running daily backups to the folder C:\Veam
However now we want to change the destination folder to E:\Veam

We have copied the .vbk files to the new location, but we cannot change Destination Folder in the Backup Job in Veam.

How can we accomplish this and use the present .vbk files without having to start all over with a new full first backup ?

Regards, Torgil //

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Gostev »

Hello Torgil, there are no supported ways to update the backup location in the existing job at the moment.
But you should be able to fix this on file system level by using mountvol/linkd commands to simply mount C:\Veeam to E:\Veeam.

ruben
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by ruben »

OK, thanks for quick reply.

Regards //

jakobjan
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 20, 2009 12:25 pm
Full Name: Jakob-Jan van der Laan

Re: How to change location for the .vbk files

Post by jakobjan »

He Gostev,

I run into the same issue.

We would like to change the backup path also, to make full backup's on-site and then take the NAS with us and make the Incrementals off-site. on the same NAS.
This saves speed .

So the only way to do this is to make sure that the nas on the backup server is i.e. X:\ and when the nas is put outside the company the X: should again be linked to the NAS..

Best Regards..

Jakob-Jan v/d Laan
Senior Network Specialist.
BOL Networks

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How to change location for the .vbk files

Post by Gostev »

Jakob, that is correct. Just remember that you cannot use network mapped drives for this, since they are per-user settings (stored in HKCU) and are not available when the user is logged off. You need to use the commands I have mentioned above.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests