How to exclude certain server from Gateway role?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

How to exclude certain server from Gateway role?

Veeam Logoby janezk » Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:27 am

Hi,

is there a way, that i can set, that a certain Veeam server ( eg. VBR server) won't be used as a Gateway?

br

Janez
janezk
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:42 am
Location: Slovenija
Full Name: Janez K

Re: How to exclude certain server from Gateway role?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Sep 22, 2016 10:23 am

Hello Janez, you cannot prevent specific server from being assigned a gateway role in case automatic gateway selection is enabled. But you can specify the gateway server explicitly.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: How to exclude certain server from Gateway role?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Sep 22, 2016 10:26 am

And if you want to exclude it completely from any Veeam processing activity, just remove it from managed servers. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: How to exclude certain server from Gateway role?

Veeam Logoby janezk » Thu Sep 22, 2016 10:54 am

Hi,

@ foggy: I prefer automatic selection, as I presume is better for load balancing and avoidance of single point of failure. ( I have multiple proxy servers available...)

v.Eremin wrote:And if you want to exclude it completely from any Veeam processing activity, just remove it from managed servers. Thanks.


Just to be clear: Can I remove also Veeam Backup an Recovery Server from "Managed Servers"? I want to avoid the backup traffic being relayed via VBR server as this causes havy load on it.

Thanks

Janez
janezk
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:42 am
Location: Slovenija
Full Name: Janez K

Re: How to exclude certain server from Gateway role?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:07 am

I think you can try to deassign any role a given server happens to have, such as repository and proxy. In this case, it won't have any transport component installed, thus, it won't be able to participate in any processing activity.

It's more like a suggestion, rather than proved course of actions.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot] and 28 guests