Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
CraigConstable
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 30, 2010 10:51 am
Full Name: Craig Constable
Location: Gold Coast

How to replicate locally before moving to Datacentre

Post by CraigConstable » May 24, 2010 2:08 am

Hi,

I would like to know what steps are need to do a replication job on a VM while the server is on the LAN and how to keep that job when moving the server offsite.

Example:
Veeam Server IP address is 192.168.0.100
Machine to be replicated is 192.168.0.200
When server is relocated the IP will change to 203.90.60.53
Machine to be replicated will have an external IP Address 230.30.88.190

How do I go about doing the initial replication so the job does not break?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: How to replicate locally before moving to Datacentre

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 24, 2010 9:12 am

Hello Craig,

If you want to keep all the configurations you should just move Veeam SQL configuration database to a new site. Then install new Veeam Server pointing to the existing Veeam database. This will keep all your configurations safe and you will be able to use it at the offsite server.

You may consider doing some search on the forums for more information about moving Veeam SQL configuration db.

Hope it helps!

CraigConstable
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 30, 2010 10:51 am
Full Name: Craig Constable
Location: Gold Coast

Re: How to replicate locally before moving to Datacentre

Post by CraigConstable » Jun 02, 2010 5:07 am

Hi Vitaliy S,

That is not what I mean.

I have the physical server on the LAN with an IP address of 192.168.0.100 so the jobs are setup for this servers IP address.
I need to then move that same server to a data centre and change it's IP address to 203.90.60.53.
When I do this I'm guessing the jobs will break? is there a way to keep them working?
I want to avoid having to do the initial replication over the WAN.

Regards,

Craig

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: How to replicate locally before moving to Datacentre

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 02, 2010 9:09 am

Craig,

Oh... changing IP address for your backup server wouldn't affect your existing jobs. Additionally, if you change IP address for the VM you want to backup/replicate, it wouldn't affect the job either, because each job uses a UUID number to identify the VM.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 20 guests