Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Gactin
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 01, 2019 11:21 pm
Full Name: Gabriel Pereira
Contact:

How to use 2 external hard drives with incremental backup?

Post by Gactin » May 01, 2019 11:32 pm

Hello everybody, How are you? I would like to know how to use 2 external hard drives with incremental backups. Currently when I switch from HD1 to HD2 it creates a full backup and when I go back to HD1 it creates a full backup again (I change it every day).

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10424
Liked: 844 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: How to use 2 external hard drives with incremental backup?

Post by Dima P. » May 02, 2019 8:57 am 1 person likes this post

Hello and welcome to the community Gabriel.

Are you using Veeam Backup and Replication or you are referring to standalone deployment of Veeam Agent for Windows? Thank you!

Gactin
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 01, 2019 11:21 pm
Full Name: Gabriel Pereira
Contact:

Re: How to use 2 external hard drives with incremental backup?

Post by Gactin » May 02, 2019 3:10 pm

I'm using the Veeam Backup & Replication
Community Edition 9.5

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10424
Liked: 844 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: How to use 2 external hard drives with incremental backup?

Post by Dima P. » May 02, 2019 4:01 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks for the clarification. You can use removable USB media for your repository but you need to enable Rotated Drives feature on such repository. Kindly, take a look at this Help Center article and let us know if that helps. Cheers!

Gactin
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 01, 2019 11:21 pm
Full Name: Gabriel Pereira
Contact:

Re: How to use 2 external hard drives with incremental backup?

Post by Gactin » May 02, 2019 9:06 pm

This option is already activated, but when I change the external hard drive from HD1 to HD2 and from HD2 to HD1, a full backup is always created, even if it has a recent full backup.

dc-fan
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 27, 2019 7:57 am
Full Name: Florian
Contact:

Re: How to use 2 external hard drives with incremental backup?

Post by dc-fan » May 07, 2019 6:11 pm 1 person likes this post

I configured 2 Backup Repositories( each with one USB Drive) and 2 totally independent Backup Jobs to reach this. Works great so far.

Gactin
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 01, 2019 11:21 pm
Full Name: Gabriel Pereira
Contact:

Re: How to use 2 external hard drives with incremental backup?

Post by Gactin » May 08, 2019 12:12 am

Do you leave the 2 HDs on all the time or are you switching between them? I had to do it this way, I created a job for repository 1 and another job for repository 2, it worked fine, but my question was if I had to configure it in only 1 job for only 1 repository ...

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10424
Liked: 844 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: How to use 2 external hard drives with incremental backup?

Post by Dima P. » May 09, 2019 1:57 pm

Gabriel,

Rotated drives feature should work for a regular repository even with multiple removable devices. I'd suggest you to raise a support ticket as there might be some specific reason which could be identified only via debug logs. Once you have a support case ID please share it in this thread. Thank you in advance!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: emoe, foggy, Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 38 guests