Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
babarc
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2011 4:41 pm
Contact:

How veeam delete old restore point?

Post by babarc » Sep 10, 2012 8:46 am

Hello, last night the job return me an error: i haven't more space on the disk to storage the backup. After 4 automatic attemp magically lots of space were available and the job was successful.
I think veeam has deleted old restore point based on policy retention...
WHEN veeam delete old file? why i have 3 error and then, the same job witouh any manual intervention, was terminated successfully?
Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16702
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: How veeam delete old restore point?

Post by foggy » Sep 10, 2012 9:18 am 1 person likes this post

The retention policy is applied at the end of each successful job run.

My guess is that the job failed on the active/synthetic full day due to insufficient space (along with 3 default retry attempts) but the next day incremental finished successfully (as full is not scheduled for that day) allowing the retention policy to clean up some space. Could this be the case?

liviu.tutuianu
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 09, 2012 8:17 am
Full Name: Liviu Tutuianu
Contact:

Re: How veeam delete old restore point?

Post by liviu.tutuianu » Sep 10, 2012 12:00 pm

Hello to all,

We have a similar problem. On one our branches, we have set 21 restore points for a job. After some cycles of 21 restore point, one day (because the data amount from those VM's grew from one day to another), we saw that we didn't have enough available space for another backup.

So, in this case, we needed to reduce the number of restore points to 18. What would be the best practice in this case: should we wait for the new replication job to complete using the new set value of restore points or we can delete manually some of the old restore points? If deleting manually is the solution, how should we choose the oldest restore points?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16702
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: How veeam delete old restore point?

Post by foggy » Sep 10, 2012 12:24 pm

You can remove restore points manually, though they will still remain in the SQL configuration database as an available restore points (until flushed away by retention). If you are using reverse incremental backup mode, just delete the oldest vrb files by their modified date. For forward incrementals, you have to remove the oldest vbk along with all the corresponding vib files (so, possibly, the whole week of backups).

Jamie Pert
Enthusiast
Posts: 68
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2012 10:56 am
Full Name: Jamie Pert
Location: twitter.com/jam1epert
Contact:

Re: How veeam delete old restore point?

Post by Jamie Pert » Sep 10, 2012 1:01 pm

It would be neat if Veeam could do this for you - right click on the backup and flush it from the repository and Veeam database. Obviously this would work for certain methods, not standard incremental. I always get a bit worried when manually deleting files
@jam1epert on Twitter

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5439
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: How veeam delete old restore point?

Post by dellock6 » Sep 10, 2012 7:52 pm

It's completely safe to delete old VRB files, since in reverse you always have the full one as the newest one.
I see anyway a problem in Veeam deleting old VRB files for two reasons:
- you are violating your own retention policy
- Veeam cannot know in advance how much space a new backup will occupy, so it will have to do it "on the fly" while backup is running. Not impossible, and maybe a good feature for the future. If you know you will violate your retention, you can choose to do so.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com/en/
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016-2017-2018
Veeam VMCE #1

quangspk
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 23, 2012 11:03 am
Full Name: Quang
Contact:

[MERGED] how to delete restore point manually to reclaim spa

Post by quangspk » Sep 23, 2012 11:08 am

Hi all,

I'm using Veeam B&R 6.

My disk is full now. I need to delete some restore point (the old backup) to reclaim my disk space. Help me pls!

Thanks all.

Ejdesgaard
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 24, 2012 11:59 am
Contact:

[MERGED] Remove individual restore points

Post by Ejdesgaard » Oct 03, 2012 2:55 pm

Hi,

I just ran out of space and got a incomplete last backup and another backup 2 weeks ago. Both are .vbk files and I can't figure out how to remove them correctly.

B&R version: 6.0.0.153
Destination: SMB
Server: 2008R2

Tom.M
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 3:06 pm
Full Name: Tom Mueller
Contact:

[MERGED] Backup repository ran full ...

Post by Tom.M » Dec 16, 2013 7:28 am

Hi,
we have configured a backup repository of 11TB, but I guess we configured to much restore points (10 each), so yesterday night the repository ran full, no more disk space.

How can I fix this? Is it just lowering the amount of restore points in each backup job to get again more diskspace?

Thanks in advance, regards
Tom

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21431
Liked: 1274 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: How veeam delete old restore point?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 16, 2013 9:26 am

Yes, that's correct. Just apply new retention policy settings and run your jobs.

kjstech
Expert
Posts: 148
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 17, 2014 4:12 pm
Full Name: Keith S
Contact:

[MERGED] Change retention policy to combat full backup repo?

Post by kjstech » Jun 09, 2014 1:32 pm

I have a backup repo (7.1TB) that is full. Two jobs failed because it has 0kb free space.

I changed my restore points in these jobs from 14 days to 8 days. Next time these jobs run, will they delete backups from day 9,10,11,12,13 and 14, therefore freeing up enough space for the job to run? Ideally this should work if it does that deletion BEFORE it tries to write (because of 0kb).
I am also moving a 133GB exchange ntbackup file off this repo to another, so that will give me a little breathing room.

Is there a way to run a job that doesn't backup but deletes all but maybe the last 3 or 4 restore points?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16702
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: How veeam delete old restore point?

Post by foggy » Jun 09, 2014 1:43 pm

Keith, no, there's no such a way, please see the details above. You should manually free the space up to let the job finish successfully.

kjstech
Expert
Posts: 148
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 17, 2014 4:12 pm
Full Name: Keith S
Contact:

Re: How veeam delete old restore point?

Post by kjstech » Jun 09, 2014 1:51 pm

foggy wrote:Keith, no, there's no such a way, please see the details above. You should manually free the space up to let the job finish successfully.
Seems like I'm not the only one with this issue as the thread was merged. What is the proper procedure to get this on the "wishlist"? I would just like to see a tickbox that would tell it to delete previous backups BEFORE it starts doing a backup. That makes more sense when your always running at 90% capacity on the repositories.

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21431
Liked: 1274 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: How veeam delete old restore point?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 09, 2014 2:03 pm

To address problems with repository free space management, I would recommend using Veeam ONE predefined report - Capacity Planning for backup repositories. Certainly, it can be in a wishlist, but deleting backups manually (overriding your defined retention policy) cannot be considered as best practice. Thanks for the feedback!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16702
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: How veeam delete old restore point?

Post by foggy » Jun 09, 2014 2:06 pm

Also, in case you do not have Veeam ONE, there are built-in Veeam B&R space notifications to track free space on the repository.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: apopkov, chaitanya.korde, DonZoomik, foggy, gmajestix, jmpatrick, opg70 and 67 guests