Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
oleav
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 05, 2009 11:20 am
Full Name: ole a
Contact:

Import and restore v5 replica

Post by oleav »

Hi,
I have to restore a replica from tape, and have ran into som trouble.

The replica job existed in v5, and it consisted of a VM which was replicated (not backup) to a NFS volume.

I don't have the job anymore - all I've got is the replica folder with the vmdk/vmx/vbk and vbr files.

It is no issue to restore the vmdk/vmx, but I need the rollback from the vbr-files.

How do I go on to "register" this replica, with its existing rollbacks?


Best regards
Ole

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20401
Liked: 1944 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Import and restore v5 replica

Post by foggy »

Hello! Unfortunately, there is no way to revert to the old v5 VRB replica restore points. The only thing you could do is to register the vmx in vCenter to revert to the latest VM state. Even if you map the new v6 job to this old replica, you will have the latest restore point available only. Thanks.

oleav
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 05, 2009 11:20 am
Full Name: ole a
Contact:

Re: Import and restore v5 replica

Post by oleav »

I know the issue with v6.

But - isn't it possible to import to a v5-server? I can easily set one up just for this purpose.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20401
Liked: 1944 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Import and restore v5 replica

Post by foggy »

No, as v5 did not allow to import replicas, nor did it have the ability to map them. This feature was first introduced in v6.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests