Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 887
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

importing .vbk not showing up

Post by frankive » Nov 29, 2014 1:09 pm

I have a .vbk file from a remote location I want to seed. I can manualy import the backupin in Veeam, but if i just rescan the repository it wont show up. So it will not be avaiable for mapping for a remote copy job.
The full backup file from is from a version 7. We hae since then upgraded to version 8.

Is there anyhow I can get this too work without seeding again? The remote office is pretty far away.

tdewin
Veeam Software
Posts: 1431
Liked: 460 times
Joined: Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin
Contact:

Re: importing .vbk not showing up

Post by tdewin » Nov 29, 2014 6:59 pm

You should import it using the vbm (small meta data file). In this case you will be able to map it

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22984
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: importing .vbk not showing up

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 29, 2014 7:59 pm

Hi Frank,

Timothy is correct, but you do not need to import that file, if you have it available next to the backup files during rescan procedure, then all backups will pop up in the Veeam backup console.

Thanks!

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 887
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: importing .vbk not showing up

Post by frankive » Dec 02, 2014 7:32 pm

The problem is that I do not have that metadata file avaiable, only the .vbk.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22984
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: importing .vbk not showing up

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 02, 2014 8:22 pm

In this case rescan procedure will not find this VBK file in the repository. If you want to seed your backup copy job, then you need to create new backup job, run it and then transfer backup files to the remote location.

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 887
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: importing .vbk not showing up

Post by frankive » Dec 02, 2014 10:46 pm

That was what I thaught. Thanks for the feedback.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 68 guests