Incomplete backup copy job on data domain using DDboost

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Incomplete backup copy job on data domain using DDboost

Veeam Logoby syl81 » Tue Dec 27, 2016 9:26 am

Hello all,
I have some backup jobs running fine on local backup, but when performing backup copy job to a DDboost Data domain, some of the VM shows a "incomplete" status, and this seems to be due to the read-only VBK.
The logs are showing these errors :

[16.12.2016 10:46:27] <45> Error Failed to open file '[W03060] ddboost01:/Profile1/NEWVM.vm-134452016-11-14T003000.vbk'.
[16.12.2016 10:46:27] <45> Error --tr:Failed to open backup disk [W03060:ddboost01@/Profile1/NEWVM.vm-134452016-11-14T003000.vbk]. Is read-only access: [true].
[16.12.2016 10:46:27] <45> Error --tr:Failed to open storage for read access. Storage: [W03060:ddboost01@/Profile1/NEWVM.vm-134452016-11-14T003000.vbk].

I have opened a support request, but as it seems related to DD, I don't think they will help me much.
So if anyone had this kind of error and know the cause, I will be happy to have it and how to correct it !
As the last backup is incomplete and the backup copy job is Incremental forward forever, the complete chain is failing...

FYI, we have looked at the switch and no network packet lost...
Version is v9 update 2

Many thanks for your help !
Sylvain
syl81
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 3:59 pm
Full Name: Sylvain ARNAUD

Re: Incomplete backup copy job on data domain using DDboost

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:28 am

Hi,

Can you confirm that the same gateway server is used during the backup session? Also please post your case ID.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Incomplete backup copy job on data domain using DDboost

Veeam Logoby syl81 » Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:55 am

Hello,

Same GW is used.
Case id : 02010275

Thanks !
Sylvain
syl81
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 3:59 pm
Full Name: Sylvain ARNAUD

Re: Incomplete backup copy job on data domain using DDboost

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Dec 27, 2016 12:27 pm

Do you probably have Retention Lock enabled on Data Domain?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1081 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Incomplete backup copy job on data domain using DDboost

Veeam Logoby syl81 » Tue Dec 27, 2016 1:11 pm

No retention lock; it only happens on some VMs inside a job, not all VMs and not the same every time.
syl81
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 3:59 pm
Full Name: Sylvain ARNAUD

Re: Incomplete backup copy job on data domain using DDboost

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Dec 27, 2016 3:08 pm

Then please continue looking into this with the help of support. It also worth contacting EMC support for possible reasons of why DD sets read-only access to files.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1081 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Incomplete backup copy job on data domain using DDboost

Veeam Logoby adb98 » Tue Dec 27, 2016 3:57 pm

Couple of questions and thoughts...

1. What type of DDBoost is this (fibre or IP based)

2. What type of file structure are you using on the DD. Should be Mtree .

3. What version of DDOS?

4. Do you have other writes going ok or is this the first one you are setting up? Anything else writing to the same Mtree? Is it successful?

Going to the DD ------Data Management ---------DDBoost ---------Storage Units.... When you click on the Mtree you are having issues with do you show its RW

I would also check snapshots on the DD and ensure there are none. Also ensure there is space. I have seen a DD fill up and then file system goes to RO until a cleaning is done. Ensure you have weekly cleanings running to clear off the space
adb98
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:03 pm
Full Name: Aaron B


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Belyaev, Bing [Bot], DGrinev, RNAPP and 50 guests