Initial install - where to load components

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Initial install - where to load components

Veeam Logoby AlanRaczek » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:18 pm

Hello all-

I have been thinking about this for a while and not quite sure where to put the components. We have a storage server running Server 2012 R2 and it has a Drobo B1200i
attached via iSCSI. This machine also has Acronis True Image installed to back up the server. We also have 2 ESXi servers running v5.5. One ESXi is attached to the Drobo
the other is not. There are not more than 7 VM's on each server.
I am looking to see if it makes sense to install Veeam BR on the storage server (all components) or install the Backup Server on a non-iSCSI attached VM and then have a
proxy on the storage server. The storage server would be our destination for the backups. Just trying to see if separating the components would ease the load on the storage
server.

Thanks.
AlanRaczek
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:56 pm
Full Name: Alan Raczek

Re: Initial install - where to load components

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:57 pm

Hi Alan, given the number of VMs, the load will not be high. Anyway, I'd consider using virtual proxies using hotadd for optimal backup speeds. Placement of the management server itself doesn't play big role here.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14346
Liked: 1054 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Initial install - where to load components

Veeam Logoby AlanRaczek » Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:16 pm

Sir-
Not quite wrapping my head around hot add. Can u point me to documentation that would be best to use? Seems like one VM needs access to all datastores?

...Alan
AlanRaczek
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:56 pm
Full Name: Alan Raczek

Re: Initial install - where to load components

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:42 am

Sure, please review the corresponding user gudie section and the sticky FAQ. Basically, the host on which hotadd proxy resides must have access to the datastore hosting VMs it needs to process.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14346
Liked: 1054 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Initial install - where to load components

Veeam Logoby AlanRaczek » Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:14 pm

Foggy-

Note we do have a support contract so I might go that route. I need this up ASAP.

Yes, got it, thank you. This is the part I am not grasping:
"The ESX(i) host on which the backup proxy is deployed must have access to the datastore hosting disks of VMs that you plan to process. "
So with 2 ESXi hosts, each with their own datastores and no shared VMFS or clustering how do I accomplish this? Sorry, there is some iSCSI
stuff I am not understanding. It's looking like a lot of re-configuring or maybe I am missing something.

...AR
AlanRaczek
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:56 pm
Full Name: Alan Raczek

Re: Initial install - where to load components

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:37 pm

You just need a proxy on each host, each of them will hotadd disks of the VMs residing on the corresponding datastores.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14346
Liked: 1054 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Initial install - where to load components

Veeam Logoby AlanRaczek » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:21 pm

Foggy/anyone-
To be clear - Our ESXi servers have multiple datastores. does this still hold true "each of them will hotadd disks of the VMs residing on the corresponding datastores"?

Just pick one VM in each host?

...Alan
AlanRaczek
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:56 pm
Full Name: Alan Raczek

Re: Initial install - where to load components

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Apr 21, 2017 9:55 am

Yes, since VM residing on the host should have access to all the connected datastores.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14346
Liked: 1054 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Initial install - where to load components

Veeam Logoby AlanRaczek » Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:20 pm

Being dumb I know, as long as the BU proxy is on one VM, it does not matter IF that vm doesn't have access to all datastores?
AlanRaczek
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:56 pm
Full Name: Alan Raczek

Re: Initial install - where to load components

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Apr 24, 2017 4:12 pm

It will use hotadd for datastores it has access to and network mode for other datastores.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14346
Liked: 1054 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Initial install - where to load components

Veeam Logoby AlanRaczek » Mon May 01, 2017 12:46 pm

How about a backup proxy on one vm in each datastore?
AlanRaczek
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:56 pm
Full Name: Alan Raczek

Re: Initial install - where to load components

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon May 01, 2017 3:28 pm

This should do the trick.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14346
Liked: 1054 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: antdolan, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 20 guests