Installing and configuring Veeam Enterprise Manager ?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Installing and configuring Veeam Enterprise Manager ?

Veeam Logoby albertwt » Thu May 11, 2017 2:33 am

Hi All,

I've got three office location where I am running Veeam Backup server with different license type:

Site 1 - Enterprise Plus Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5.0.823
Site 2 - Enterprise Plus Veeam Backup & Replication 9.0.0.1715
Site 3 - Enterprise Veeam Backup & Replication 9.0.0.1715

So how can I show the backup status in a web page format for my Monitoring team (NOC) to access the dashboard of Veeam Enterprise Manager ?

Where shall I install the Enterprise Manager from as best practice ?

Thanks in advance.

Case #02152800
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
albertwt
Expert
 
Posts: 607
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: Installing and configuring Veeam Enterprise Manager ?

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Thu May 11, 2017 10:55 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Albert,

Please keep in mind that you cannot mix different licenses in Enterprise Manager, so you should be running Enterprise Plus for all servers and upgrade your 2nd and 3rd backup server to 9.5.
Enterprise Manager doesn't require a specific location, it depends only on your preference.
If I get you right, for the Monitoring team accounts you can give role named "Portal User" and edit permissions to restrict unnecessary restores.

The recommended way for monitoring purposes is to use Veeam ONE. This will provide read-only access to the entire backup infrastructure for your team.

Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 461
Liked: 57 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Installing and configuring Veeam Enterprise Manager ?

Veeam Logoby albertwt » Thu May 11, 2017 1:18 pm

Dmitry,

Thanks for the sharing, sure I will be upgrading them all eventually one by one.
So if I install it on the 3rd Veeam server, does it going to work or do I need separate VM for Enterprise manager?
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
albertwt
Expert
 
Posts: 607
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: Installing and configuring Veeam Enterprise Manager ?

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Thu May 11, 2017 2:19 pm 1 person likes this post

Sure it will work, feel free to install EM on the 3rd server.
But until you bring it on the same level, you will be able to add only 2 of 3 servers to EM. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 461
Liked: 57 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Installing and configuring Veeam Enterprise Manager ?

Veeam Logoby albertwt » Thu May 11, 2017 2:21 pm

yes, thank you very much sir :-)
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
albertwt
Expert
 
Posts: 607
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

[MERGED] B&R and EM

Veeam Logoby DarkSideofTheQ » Wed Sep 06, 2017 1:04 pm

I've been a long time Veeam ONE user and we've recently purchased their Backup and Recovery product. As I read through the documentation I have yet to find an definitive answer to one of my questions. Can I install EM onto the same server that I've installed B&R? In our environment (13 hosts, 350 VMs), it would seem that I would want to place the proxy role onto it's own server, but wasn't certain about EM. All of our servers will be VMs if that factors into a decision.

TIA
DarkSideofTheQ
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:57 pm
Full Name: DarkSide

Re: B&R and EM

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Wed Sep 06, 2017 1:46 pm

Hi and welcome to the community!

Yes, you can install EM on the server with Veeam B&R or wherever you want it to.
Please review this thread for additional information. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 461
Liked: 57 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Installing and configuring Veeam Enterprise Manager ?

Veeam Logoby DarkSideofTheQ » Wed Sep 06, 2017 2:22 pm

Thanks for the quick reply Dmitry and for answering this question.

-DarkSide
DarkSideofTheQ
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:57 pm
Full Name: DarkSide


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 70 guests

cron