Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
_phoenix_
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 07, 2010 7:43 am
Full Name: Sergey
Contact:

Is any rpoblem to run backup and replication on same VM?

Post by _phoenix_ »

Hello.
How incremental backup on VM works? If I start backup, it clear archive attribute on data and next incremental replication was wrong? Or it use othe method to do incremental backup?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26706
Liked: 4277 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Is any rpoblem to run backup and replication on same VM?

Post by Gostev »

Hello Sergey, there are no problems to run backup and replication on same VM. This question is actually covered in the FAQ thread stickied to the top of this forum. I recommend that you review it to get answers to all basic questions about the product.

There are 2 diffent ways available how product determines changes since last backup, one is Veeam's proprietary (read and hash all block of source image to determine changed blocks, this works for any ESX version). Another one leverages VMware Changed Block Tracking functionality (which is available only with vSphere ESX4).

_phoenix_
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 07, 2010 7:43 am
Full Name: Sergey
Contact:

Re: Is any rpoblem to run backup and replication on same VM?

Post by _phoenix_ »

Thank you for answer.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 28 guests