Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Is my config ok?

Post by smarechal »

Hello,

I'm just new to Veeam. I replaced Vranger and backup exec with it.
My backup job is very simple.
I make a full reverse incremental backup daily* and then make a backup to tape.
I set Enable inline data deduplication and optimal compression.
My tape drive is a LTO 6, i set compression off.

Is it OK?

Thanks for your help ;)

* i made a script that delete previous data before backup to have full backup daily.

PS: sorry for my english ^^

Here is my backup script

Code: Select all

$job="backup"
$jobtotape="Backup to tape"


cls
Add-PSSnapin VeeamPSSnapin -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
If ((Get-PSSnapin "*Veeam*" -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue) -eq $null)
{Write-Verbose "Unable to load Veeam snapin, you must run this on your Veeam backup server, and the Powershell snapin must be installed.`n`n"
Return 999
}

# Arret des jobs vers bande en cours si k7 non insérée la veille
$jobencours = Get-VBRTapeJob | Where-Object {$_.LastState -like "WaitingTape"}
Stop-VBRJob $jobencours

Start-Sleep -Seconds 60

# Suppression des fichiers precedents
Get-VBRBackup -Name "Backup" | Remove-VBRBackup -FromDisk -confirm:$false

Start-Sleep -Seconds 5

# Lancement du job de sauvegarde des VM
Start-VBRJob -Job $job

Start-Sleep -Seconds 10


$RunningJobs = $true

# Tant que le job - nommé - de sauvegarde des VM est en cours, pas de lancement du job vers bande
# Important de mettre le parametre $_.JobName -eq $job car si le job de sauvegarde LTO est bloqué, le job de sauvegarde vers les VM peut quand même avoir lieu

If (@(Get-VBRBackupSession | Where { $_.JobName -eq $job -and $_.isCompleted -eq $false }).Count -gt 0)
{
Write-Verbose "."
Start-Sleep -Seconds 600
}
Else
# Une fois le job termine, on lance la sauvegarde vers bande
{
$RunningJobs = $false
Start-VBRJob -Job $jobtotape
Write-Verbose "Le job de sauvegarde vers bande est en cours"
exit
}



Return 0

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6408
Liked: 724 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by PTide »

Hi and welcome to the community!
* i made a script that delete previous data before backup to have full backup daily.
Get-VBRBackup -Name "Backup" | Remove-VBRBackup -FromDisk -confirm:$false
As I can see you delete your backup from disk, why so? What do you mean by "daily full"? If you do reverse incremental a .VBK file contains full backup of the most recent state of your VMs, so there is no need to enforce full backup via deletion of all previous data. Please elaborate.

Thank you.
smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by smarechal »

Hello and thank you for your answer.
I've tried to set only one retore point to have only full backup, but without success. The new backup doesn't delete old files.

Regards.
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6408
Liked: 724 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by PTide »

I've tried to set only one retore point to have only full backup, but without success. The new backup doesn't delete old files.
You mean that you've set up the "restore points to keep on disk" value to "1" in job wizard and still getting more than 1 restore point on your harddrive?
smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by smarechal »

Yes!
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6408
Liked: 724 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by PTide »

That's an unexpected behaviour, with retention being set to "1" there should remain only one restore point. Please open a support ticket so our support team could take a closer look at your environment and post your case ID here.

Thank you.
smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by smarechal »

Yes, i'll do it.

Thank you.
veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 20270
Liked: 2252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by veremin »

Can you post the screenshot of these and these settings? I'd also suggest to avoid deleting existing backup, until new one is created.

Thanks.
smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by smarechal »

Hello,

Here are screenshots:
Image

Image

Thanks for your help and i wish you an happy new year.
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6408
Liked: 724 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by PTide »

Am I right that all you want is just to make one full backup daily (no increments), copy it to tape, and overwrite it with a new full backup next day?
smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by smarechal »

Yes :wink:
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6408
Liked: 724 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by PTide » 1 person likes this post

Ok, then please uncheck "active fulls" or set them to happen once every 1-3 month. There is no point in performing daily active full with reverese incremental (especially if you have a single restore point). Moreover - there is no point in using reverse incremental with 1 restore point either as it still creates significant load on your storage, so I suggest you to switch to incremental mode.

With such configuration you don't need scripting at all - VBR will take care of both Backup and Tape jobs.

Let me know if that helps.

Thank you.
foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 21069
Liked: 2115 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by foggy »

I wonder whether your goal is to have just a single full restore point but making incremental backup each day (and injecting changes into the full backup file) or to make an active full each day (pulling the entire VM data from the production datastore)?
smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by smarechal »

Hi Ptide, Hi Foggy,

I think to continue running my script.
And yes my goal is to have a complete backup each day and pull it on tape.

Thanks for your help ;)
foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 21069
Liked: 2115 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by foggy » 1 person likes this post

If you need an active full to be performed daily, then your initial configuration looks ok.
smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by smarechal »

Thank you for the confirmation.
smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by smarechal »

Hello,

Will it run on V9?

Thank you.
Shestakov
Veteran
Posts: 7328
Liked: 781 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by Shestakov » 1 person likes this post

Hello, yes it will work in v9 as well.
smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by smarechal »

Thanks a lot :)
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6408
Liked: 724 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Is my config ok?

Post by PTide »

However, I'd test it first because some cmdlets' behaviour may change from version to version.

Thank you.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bct44, Bing [Bot], Ivan239 and 159 guests