Is there a way to force a Synthetic Full or Rollup of inc's

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Is there a way to force a Synthetic Full or Rollup of inc's

Veeam Logoby SerenitySolutions » Wed Oct 28, 2015 11:01 pm

Hi All
Im still pretty new to Veeam. It is deployed at one of our clients. We checked recently and it had an out of disk space error - disk space on the backup repository.

I have changed the retention policy to only keep 7 incrementals instead of 14 for the backup job. Is there a way I can force a rollup or synthetic full backup to remove some of the incrementals?
Obviously with no actual disk space left, would it be better to move a couple of their VMs to another storage location temporarily?

Looking for the best way to get them out of this jam.

thanks in advance

James
SerenitySolutions
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 3:45 pm
Full Name: Matt Peacock

Re: Is there a way to force a Synthetic Full or Rollup of in

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:55 am

Matt, there's no way to do that, you need to free up some space so that the job completed successfully and could apply new retention policy (retention applies at the end of the job). What backup method do you use (forward/reverse incremental)?

FYI, there're built-in space notifications that allow to track free space on the repository to avoid such situations, as well as Veeam ONE capacity planning capabilities.

Also, v9 will feature the new Unlimited Scale-out Backup Repository that perfectly addresses this kind of issues.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Is there a way to force a Synthetic Full or Rollup of in

Veeam Logoby terafirma » Wed Oct 05, 2016 10:16 pm

We ran into this today and while scale-out would solve the issue that requires having hardware on standby, not something everyone has at short notice.

I think an option in the console to force a roll-up would be a great addition to the product. This is a far better solution than begin forced to just delete data.
terafirma
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 3:01 am

Re: Is there a way to force a Synthetic Full or Rollup of in

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:20 am

Roll-up ability depends on the backup method. If using reverse or forever-forward incremental you can just change retention policy and run another backup to get rid of all increments.
If using forward incremental with synthetic or full backups requires free space equal to .vbk file
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 29 guests