Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
wisecra
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 31, 2009 10:07 pm
Full Name: Craig Wiseman

Is there anyway to make failback multitask? (B&R v7)

Post by wisecra » Dec 03, 2014 2:41 pm

(this is all in VMware 5 ESXi/vcenter, Veeam B&R 7)

I had to failover all the VMs at one site to a remote site ( - worked awesomely, btw!)

In failingback over to the production site, it seems the failback process goes through each disk serially, one at a time. This is different than the way backups/replications work - they can address more than one disk at a time (assuming proxy resources).

Am I missing a setting here? Is there a way to make failbacks multitask?

Thanks!
cpw...

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18281
Liked: 1567 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Is there anyway to make failback multitask? (B&R v7)

Post by foggy » Dec 03, 2014 3:14 pm

Craig, currently multiple disks cannot be processed in parallel during failback operation, as they are in backup and replication jobs.

wisecra
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 31, 2009 10:07 pm
Full Name: Craig Wiseman

Re: Is there anyway to make failback multitask? (B&R v7)

Post by wisecra » Dec 03, 2014 3:54 pm

Thanks for the reply!

I've been trying parse the v8 info and I don't see anything that indicates it's been addressed in v8 either - is this the same in v8 as well?
cpw...

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18281
Liked: 1567 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Is there anyway to make failback multitask? (B&R v7)

Post by foggy » Dec 03, 2014 3:56 pm

Yes, this is the same for v8.

wisecra
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 31, 2009 10:07 pm
Full Name: Craig Wiseman

Re: Is there anyway to make failback multitask? (B&R v7)

Post by wisecra » Dec 03, 2014 3:57 pm

Thanks... very good to know for planning purposes. Failover is very quick. Failback, not so much.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18281
Liked: 1567 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Is there anyway to make failback multitask? (B&R v7)

Post by foggy » Dec 03, 2014 4:03 pm

Well, failover is just a switch from the original VM to its replica and requires only the amount of time to start the replica VM, while during failback to the original VM Veeam B&R needs to calculate and synchronize the differences between the original VM and its replica. The time required to scan the VM image depends on its size and is comparable to the full backup time of this VM. So it is definitely slower.

wisecra
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 31, 2009 10:07 pm
Full Name: Craig Wiseman

Re: Is there anyway to make failback multitask? (B&R v7)

Post by wisecra » Dec 03, 2014 5:36 pm

Thanks... yes, there is much more work to do when failing back, that I get.

It just doesn't make a whole of sense to me that failback has to run serially through all the drives...

if you have 6 drives, I don't get why it couldn't do 2 drives at a time, depending on proxy availability. That would significantly speed things up.
cpw...

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18281
Liked: 1567 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Is there anyway to make failback multitask? (B&R v7)

Post by foggy » Dec 03, 2014 5:51 pm

We are considering the ability to allow parallel processing during failback, thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 60 guests